Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Curse of the Slime Queen

by mike.cullingham - Jam Entry

Uses both themes. Built with GameMaker, GIMP, and sfxr.

Keyboard input (I figured I'd add 3 control schemes, but once you launch the game you only need 2 of them... e.g. ctrl & alt or x & c)
* Ctrl, X, or Left: move slime queen in her current direction
* Alt, C, or Right: attract all slimes to you

Goal:
* Become a large gold slime.

Known Issues:
* Frequently (sigh) slime won't be infected either by gold or deadly red slime.
* There are only 4 levels and the standards for 1, 2, or 3 stars on a level have not been rigorously (or barely) tested.
* If you get stuck on a level, type the cheat code "OOZE" to go to the next level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#363Innovation(Jam)3.34
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#691Audio(Jam)2.27
#770Humor(Jam)2.12
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#813Graphics(Jam)2.83
#857Overall(Jam)2.93
#867Mood(Jam)2.64

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

What can I say, this game was really slimy. Wasn't sure what caused growth or being absorbed. Good graphics, interesting growth mechanics. I had initial problems getting the game to start in Windows 8.1 .. "More Info" revealed the run anyway button (thanks BN).

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Good use of shaders for graphics. Cool idea of growing your slime kingdom!

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57am

Theme use is clever. Managed to finish all the levels but it took a while to understand the goal. I'm not sure what the use of the "absorbing" button is though I never used it in any of the levels. Fun game and the sound effects were nice. Well done.

Starspell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

I liked the concept of the game but I don't think that the gameplay is easy to pick up. There doesn't seem to be a way to escape losing. I think if there was a tutorial to clue you into some the gameplay ideas it would have helped. I liked the overall idea though.

radmars says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32am

Interesting concept, though a bit unintuitive (I didn't notice the rotating movement indicator at first, so maybe making that more obvious might help?) Since you just grow automatically, you can just beeline to the goal and sit there, so there doesn't seem to be much of a reason to pull things toward you since it's so risky. Definitely some cool strategy gameplay potential though. Nice work.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:50am

Pretty nice start here! Cool infection spreading like concept for growing your Slimedom (tm) :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Wasn't too sure what exactly I needed to collect to become a bigger slime (green and gold or just gold?). Liked the general slime growth concept though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:38pm

@Elenesski: hopefully installer problem was fixed in my updated download. absorption should have been bigger absorbs smaller but due to a bug sometimes it didn't happen.

@local306: thanks!

@Henez: Confession. I screwed up attraction late in the cycle and forgot to fix it. It should have only attracted similarly coloured slimes.

@Starspell: I actually added the red queen to level 1 because I wanted there to be a way to always (farily quickly) exit the level without adding another interface button. So you could just choose to die. I suppose I could've made it a non-spawning bad guy though. Thanks for the feedback on that.

@radmars: Point taken. Thanks for that insight. Need to add more incentive to pull.

@broknecho: Why didn't I talk to you earlier? Slimedom!

@SeaLeft Studios: Spawning and growth are automatic. But I think I underestimated how the non-deterministic nature would affect comprehension. Thanks for that insight.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:40am

Fun gameplay! Mechanics felt fresh.

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:54am

Interesting gameplay! It was confusing at first, but once I got that you go in the direction you're rotating in it was better. Attracting the slime to me seemed more dangerous than helpful, since the slime would always grow anyway, and touching the red slime at all would just be bad. There were also some levels where red slime just chased me so I just ran around until I had enough gold. good job!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:30am

Interesting mechanics. I dindn't completely get my hang around attracting the slime. It always seemed very hard doing it without dying.

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:46am

It took quite a while to figure out the controls (also you should make it more clear, that the Player alsways moves in the direction he faces), but after that I liked the game quite much.
You definetly nailed the Themes and Graphics and Audio were minimalistic but quite nice.
Overall I would like to see a more polished version of the game, because the concept seemed interessting!

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:36pm

interesing idea.

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

Yay more slime! Fun action-puzzle concept, that last level is tricky

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:54am

Original!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Export the game as an single time exe instead!!!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Good idea and nice graphics.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:47am

A pretty interesting concept - I didn't really like the controls, but at the same time you managed to make something quite interesting and a little difficult with them. You've laid down the foundation for something that could be interesting.
This is another entry that I feel would be pretty good on mobile, but at the same time, changing the control scheme would make such a big difference. I know you were trying to use two button controls but it really didn't feel like it fit too well.
Level design is okay, audio is okay. The HUD is well designed and shows the information that you need to know in a clear and concise manner.

Karatorian says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:37am

At first it seemed like it worked under wine, but none of the slime was colored, so I guess not. Too bad, seems interesting.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Glad to see a fellow sfxr user

This is a great idea for a puzzle series, but I feel like the attract function could have been used to much more interesting effect with maybe a blue slime or other mechanism for blocking and/or swapping the controlling slime.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:17pm

@bitwise-constructs/@Shovix/@DinnerInTheDark/@tantumgames: Thanks!

@aeveis/@simon.parzer: I agree attracting isn't really very useful in its current implementation.

@Markus Brand: Thanks for that feedback on the non-obviousness. In hindsight, I completely agree.

@Anachron: Slimy goodness for all!

@Catblocker: Good point. The default GameMaker installer is overkill. Thanks for pointing that out.

@alyphen: Thanks for that feedback. I was very determined to keep it to the two buttons. Maybe too much so. That gives me something to think about.

@Karatorian: I'm fairly certain that means the shaders didn't compile under Wine. I didn't have a fallback mechanism (other than to make sure it didn't crash). Really appreciate you pointing that out, as it's something I hadn't fully considered.

@Loneshark: Agree that the attract didn't serve much purpose. I had an idea for a friendly blue-purple slime but ran out of time. Thanks for that feedback. And sfxr definitely is excellent for jams!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Cool concept, much polish is needed. I feel like starting the player right next to the red slime on level one led to frustrating restarts during the level where they're figuring out how to move. I could see this being pretty interesting though.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Nice game concept. There was something with the slime queen spinning too fast or the controls not reacting, but I was never going in the direction I wanted to.

Otherwise the game feels quite solid. The particle and shader effects are quite cool.

mockthebear says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Liked the mechanics... but you should export as an single executable =\

Gjarble says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:37am

This a very unique kind of gameplay, both in controls and overall concept- I like it! I especially like the design of the last level, and how it forces you to figure out how to move to prevent the red from reaching the green before you get back to it.

At first, it wasn't quite clear to me how exactly the game worked (particularly how I was supposed to become a large gold slime), but I understood eventually: getting to the goal makes the player-controlled slime gold, then it shoots out gold things that infect other green pieces, until you infect enough pieces to win. I was confused why, at some points, the gold and red pieces didn't seem to infect green pieces, but then I reread the "Known Issues" section and realized it was just a bug.

It is kind of hard to tell what direction the player-controlled slime is facing, since the indicator has so much rotational symmetry.

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Took some time until I understood what to do :) But this is a real new concept, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]