Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow and Regrow

by Mantlair - Compo Entry

Grow as a plant and reproduce! Freely decide which way to grow!
You have limited energy. Collect sunlight in order to make seeds. Drop your seeds on green areas and regrow.

Growing costs 1 energy.
Seeding costs 10 energy.
Sunlight gives 20 energy.

Seeds will fall directly below so if ground below is not green you can't seed.
There will be a visual indicator whenever seeding is possible. And it will show where your next plant will be. Hit the plant target on each level and unlock sandbox/playground.

Game is roughly a proof-o-concept because I did not spent any time on polishing.

-- Controls --

Left/Right Arrow: Change Direction
Up Arrow: Grow
Down Arrow: Drop Seed
R: Restart
Enter: Next Level (When target is reached.)

--Tools--

Unity 3D: Engine
Paint.net: Sun Logo

Spent a total 9 hours. (A bit less.) I think this is very good for 9 hours of effort so I am happy.

I forgot choosing zip filetype so if you can't open rar files and it stopped you from playing my game tell me so I can feel bad.

Apperantly someone made the concept I was going for at the start into a game. Consider checking this one out after mine. If you happen to enjoy my game you will love this one. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=30402

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#184Theme4.07
#188Innovation3.67
#372Overall3.37
#424Fun3.23
#569Humor2.17
#730Mood2.57
#871Graphics2.07

Comments

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really cool concept! Sadly I only played the first three levels because I'm busy working on my own game. Lovely game!

shar says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Very enthralling! Played up until the playground! gj

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

As I said yesterday, I love this game. Rated now :P

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

A bit more polish would be really nice, but the core idea is really interesting. I get to the 4 level, but could not make the 7 seeds :P

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:11am

Ow, greate concept. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Interesting mechanics prototype.

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Interesting take on the theme. Not sure my solution to the level with target of 7 was correct (make a big loop with 1 vine and then just drop all 6 seeds in a line?) Worked well.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Cool puzzle game. I think this concept could make a great game in mobile stores

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Cool concept. I got to the level with the 7 seeds

Gyfis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very nice game! Took me two iterations to beat the level with limit 7, but otherwise pretty straightforward. I like the gameplay, I'd be interested in continuous growing of the vine, decreasing the 'sun' in time (just like clock), so that you would have to only take directions.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Very good ! :D
The only problem is that I'm spamming the arrow to go foward, it should have been possible to keep the arrow pressed to grow !

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Starts getting pretty tricky later on. Zero production values, but it's got heart.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Good gameplay. A few more levels would be awesome because I was getting really into it.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Not bad, especially for 9 hours. Basically a growing based puzzle game. Would surely be interesting to see a more polished version of this.. could definitely become a very entertaining little game. :)

Also sorry for only providing a 64bit version of my game and your struggle to get it to run. I've added a 32bit download now and will upload a video later, so feel free to check back at some point. Cheers!

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

My main problem is that there isn't more of it. Love it! :D

Knowledge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Cool game, got stuck on some level.

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I love the idea, and the execution! I must have spent 10+ minutes in the sandbox, just trying to make pretty curves with the vines! I like this one a lot, one my favorites so far. Especially impressive considering it was made in less than 9 hours! Fantastic job.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I liked the concept, but I would prefer the plant to grow automatically, while I only control the direction, as there is not enough that I actually have to think about to make it interesting as a puzzle game.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:15pm

That was fun!

A PvP versus mode where you race against someone else would be A LOT of fun. I could probably play that for a couple hours a a time.

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Awesome concept!
Loved the fact that it is a bit more strategic than excepted!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]