Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hear My Power Growing

by Adreqi - Compo Entry

Musical space shooter !
Gather power-ups to make your ship sound better.
You only have to move (LEFT + RIGHT arrows), the ship shoots in rythm.

Little warning : This game lacks some balance, so it's hard in the beginning and way too easy in the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Audio3.96
#391Theme3.84
#413Innovation3.25
#446Overall3.28
#524Mood2.90
#586Fun3.00
#683Graphics2.71
#696Humor1.56
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

jhice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

Nice game that fits the two themes correctly :)

What I like:

- music, synchro
- design (could be improved but falling speakers and lasers are great!)

What I think is missing to have a better gameplay quickly:

- better ship movement (with slighter moves and a bit of inertia)
- as you said, the balance of the game: perhaps less enemies and less bonus at a time, different enemies speeds
- and cherry on the cake a better GUI to clarify the ship status :)

Theme : 4/5
Overall note: 3/5 (to let room for improvements ;)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14pm

First of all, you should really find a better file storage. Current one is veeery slow.

Visual style is nice. Enemy and player sprites need improvement; projectiles, speakers and backgound are great.

A better gameplay would be nice, because now I can just stay and dothing after getting the first level.

Also, I really liked the sound design, the fact that music gets more complex when you collect bonuses.


By the way, in comments to my game you said that you stuck on a level. Recently I made a walkthrough, because want people to see my entire game, not only a first levels. Check it out if you want.

endel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Nice game here. Unfortunately the experience was too short. When I got stronger my enemies stopped to appear. It would also be good to balance enemy ships in number and difficulty according to your power. Keep it up!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Aww it stopped as it was getting interesting. Nice music though!

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06pm

It is kinda of difficult...

But love the sync of music !! Fits perfectly!!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very nice concept!! I really like the sync, though there is a subtle 'lag' between loop - would be great if you could eliminate and create truly seamless looping! The experience could be balanced better as well, but I really enjoyed this! Thanks!

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I really like this one! Excellent use of the themes, and the sense of progression is very good. I'd definitely be interested in seeing what could come of this if you decide to do more with the concept!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Experienced massive performance issues about 30 seconds into the game, practically ground to a halt. Windows 10, internet explorer, i7.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Style is a bit mixed, some high detail and low detail mixed is a bit weird. The gameplay balance could be improved when the enemies also get more aggressive and maybe more health, but for now the player is just overpowered. The music getting more impressive on each level up is very nice.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

It's rewarding hearing the music become more intricate as you progress, and your weapons become sort of a light show as well. I think the difficulty curve is reversed though - it's very hard to get started, and becomes ridiculously easy after a couple of upgrades. Cool game overall.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:50am

Loved the idea of the music growing along with your power. On top of that the nice song in the background added to the mood.

The enemies could use a little variation and I really would've wanted to go out on town with the maximum powerups on a bunch of enemies, so consider adding that :D

Couldn't get the game to start from the opening menu if it was running in a browser window (mac safari). But as soon as I fullscreened, the game finally accepted my spacebar. Consider using a clickable start button in the future, just in case :D

VitasaMode says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:32pm

I thought the concept was cool but found the game too difficult

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]