Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Can't Jump

by x92rwzb - Compo Entry

This game uses the "Two button controls" theme of Ludum Dare #34. In this platformer you basically can't jump. But luckily for you there are other ways to move along gaps without jumping as you will soon realise.

Controls
---------
Left: "a", Left arrow
Right: "d", Right arrow

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#725Theme3.38
#760Innovation2.64
#847Mood2.06
#857Fun2.48
#888Graphics1.88
#930Overall2.48

Comments

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51pm

This was incredibly frustrating to play - maybe lower the difficulty cap slightly? Though I guess that's part of what the game's about. Seriously though, this is probably the hardest thing I've played yet.
Levels were deceptively simply designed.
Kind of lacked sound effects and music (other than the menu), which may have added to it's addictiveness. Graphically, could use some improvement but does convey the meaning of everything well enough. Boxes could use bevels, lighting, etc. Player character could be less cubey.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Interesting take on 2-button puzzle platformer, i actually had fun, although the game is very short.

Also the game is called 'can't run' - but you can =)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Thanks for the feedback!

@alyphen: The levels were all beatable, and yes the difficulty was part of the game.

@Evgenii Petrov: I meant to call it can't jump but in my rush I actually made the title can't run. Will fix soon!

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Some falling platforms feel a tad bit unfair. Overall great job!

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Fun game! It's really hard at the beginning, but it's also addictive. Nice job!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I appreciate the challenge, the concept is simple but clever, and it fits the theme well. However, there are some glitchy bumps due to the physics on moving platforms, which increase the already high difficulty.

By the way, on the web link it says the game has been removed by the author and can't be played. Will you reupload the game to Newgrounds?

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

@Ithildin: If by glitchy bumps you mean level 3 then you just need to sprint. Also yes I will fix the Newgrounds link.

that1guy232 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Pretty fun! I enjoyed the difficulty. The bounce blocks where weird you could just keep bouncing on it till you could jump over the whole level. I think there should be a limit on how high they can bounce you.

Lusmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Clever little platformer. Difficulty is spot on.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

The game is very difficult but very interesting concept! Would be nice if the difficulty curve is less steep. Otherwise it is quite fun.

arvaris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I couldn't get past the first level.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Cool game, good puzzles, nice level design

Andrew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

A lot of fun. Difficulty was just right. You should add a bunch more levels and keep working on it for a post-compo version

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Can't seem to beat the first level. Difficulty seems a bit high.

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39pm

It was a bit confusing and hard at first but got better after a bit, cool idea, maybe you could develop it more in the future :D

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03am

Really difficult to play, but a cool idea nonetheless!

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Its hard at first, but cool! :P

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

An interesting spin on the platformer genre. But as other's have already said, it's incredibly difficult right from the start. It's fun, but some easier levels to start with would be nice.

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The first level is incredibly hard, then it's easy. It's a nice little game, but it could use more work!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Yay, I managed to beat the levels! It was fun with the bouncy and the lifting elements. In some Situations i couldn't see what i was doing right/wrong. One time time I would cross the gap, next turn i didn't - tho the gap was the same. But nice work overall!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Well made! The first level was the hardest, the rest was pretty easy. I especially liked the "puzzle" were you had to walk back a tiny bit to make the gap. Too bad there are so few levels.

Well done!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Interesting mechanic, although I'm sure it can be expanded upon further!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! Should I continue developing this game? http://strawpoll.me/6274288

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

The controls are difficult. The character bounces around a lot. But the concept is nice. I think if you tighten the controls and balance the gameplay a little better this could be a great game!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

The yellow platforms were so abusable, it increased the velocity every time you jumped them. Kinda nice game, didnt like the red platforms at all, could've implemented that in some other way. Liked the difficulty, nice niché that you have to use the bouncing part of the blue platforms.

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17pm

couldn't even pass the first scene , but i liked the idea

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Ok.. I got stuck on the 3rd platform. I wonder if I'm doing something wrong.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

@nunesbarbosa: If you are talking about the first level then you just need to wait for the platform to launch you.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Wooo i completed the levels :)i liked this game was fun and i loved the bouncy yellow ones

well done!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Quite tricky but a really nice game :)

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26pm

The control scheme feels a little bit unpolished, but the idea was interesting.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Interesting take on a platformer. Some sound would really help it, even if it's suble.

h.attila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19am

I liked the idea but I found the game unfairly difficult at first. After I managed to beat the first level by sheer luck the rest was pretty easy though. The game would need a lot of polish - the controls can be improved, as well as the graphics Sound effects and some music would also make it a lot better.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:34am

Interesting game. The difficulty is fine but it should ramp up to the level it's at, not start there. give the player time to get used to the rules of the game before you try to punish them.

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:42am

A fun play. I thought the first level was significantly harder than the rest of the levels other than that pretty fun :D

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:50am

I can't get past the first level :( Can you share some sort of hint so I can play more? I won't rate yet, as I can't give it a fair review

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

@Warboys: Just wait for the blue platform to launch you to the green one.

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01pm

This is so potential. It's really fun! Nice work!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Wow, that first level is hard.. never got passed it, but i like the concept of NOT jumping. This has potential, but maybe tone down the first level a bit. :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42am

I liked the concept. With a bit of improved level design, this can be golden :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:04am

Fun game, but a bit too short. Good work though

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:59am

Bouncy yellow ledges were the best!

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:43am

I like the first level. But the later level looks impossible...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Wow, i thought how hard could it be, just left and right boy was i wrong
Omg really well executed :) i liked it

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07pm

rough entry, sometimes it was frustrating, but entertaining nonetheless. the startup screen was very funny

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Frustrating, but unique. Nice job.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

The game is simple. Maybe you didn't had time to polish, something like background and audio could turn your game more attractive, but I liked the idea you took for the theme.

You can improve this to turn in something big. Nice job!

ddoomus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:17am

Good game. I think levels 1 and 2 were the hardest. Some of the others I beat first try, but level 1 probably took me 20 or 30 tries.

I like the main character art.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Really cool game! Also, I'm not really sure where to say this, but on my game you commented that it lacked audio, but there actually is audio, it is just quiet.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:59pm

@Steven Miller: I took a closer look with headphones and yes you are right there actually is some audio, I just didn't notice it with speakers. Sorry about that.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I got frustrated because you have to get the platform moving pixel perfect, didn't manage to finish level 1 - after falling 15 times I gave up.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I had some issues with a particular platform (level 3 I think?) that lay completely still, but still I was sometimes able to get on top of it and sometimes not. After repeated dying, I finally conceded to the erratic platform. I think the movement, and platform-person interaction could benefit from some further work.

Nevertheless, I think it was an interesting concept, and entertaining to play for a while. Well done :)

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:13am

At least it matched the them. The game is way to hard though.

barret907k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47am

Too hard.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:54am

I appreciate difficulty in games, but not as soon as I step foot into them. Try as I might, I couldn't get past the first level.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

Addictive game! I ended up falling on one of the levels with bouncy platforms and never re-spawning though...

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

@Allthebees: I am aware of that bug, as it has happened to me a couple of times.

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Thanks for the challenge. I enjoyed the difficulty even if I didn't ended it.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:00am

This is an interesting idea, and you have some cool mechanics that work with the lack of a jump. The difficulty curve seems a little unsmooth, though -- some of the earlier levels are much harder than the last couple of levels.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:36am

I couldn't make it through the first level, but I did like the use of the two-button controls. Interesting take on the theme, and a good execution for 48 hours.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:53am

Fun game! But It's very difficult

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I like the simplicity. The levels got easier every time so id reverse the level order. No sfx/music and mspaint-style gfx only though and not enough gameplay to make up for it.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Simple but effective! I had the feeling that the first level was the hardest of them all ^^ Nice compo!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nice idea, but the game was frustrating to play. I think the first level should be a little easier to entice people to continue playing.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:07pm

the idea is interesting , a bit hard .
could have used better colors for the background and the ledges.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:59am

Oh my god this was a brilliant idea and so infuriating. I kept playing through because its quite addictive also the way the character moved made me laugh :). Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]