Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tripper

by Frozen Stick - Jam Entry

The Tripper!Get ready to make your eyes explode!
Play with 'X' and 'Z' keys!Have fun.
Theme:Two buttons
You can also change the music with : 'M' but overall play with 'X' and 'Z'.'

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#462Humor(Jam)2.73
#476Mood(Jam)3.26
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#737Innovation(Jam)2.80

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I got 2 screens at once, one with no post effects and the other all wiggly. The sound was a bit repetitive.

Frozen Stick says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@Overhook Games Well I don't know about that the Game runs with one screen on my pc.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

There was a visual bug that while quite annoying, didn't make the game unplayable.
See image here: http://i.imgur.com/XXQ6tJg.jpg

The visual effects were quite nice and the game was enjoyable to play, but the shooting sound got repetitive really fast and i had to turn the sound way down as it started to hurt my ears.

LazyDev says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

I have the same bug.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

If I was tripping and defending myself from waves of what look like multicolored butterfly space ships I think I'd freak out. Thats what this game feels like, haha-- mostly in a good way. The sound of the auto-firing gun however needs to be minimized somehow it gets very grating after a while.

Stending says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Wow! Awesome visual and musics!
Great entry, congratulations!

krispy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I really enjoyed the neo-retro feel to this. I think with some more time commitment you could turn this into a solid casual shooter.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:25pm

The use of shaders is Interesting. Maybe slower shoots could do better playability, but interesting abstract shooter. Well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:28am

Pro:
+ Great music and graphics
+ Such a bad trip
Con:
- It get's really difficult to dodge and to know if I'm dodging or not
Obs:
o Could become a bullethell...?

Great work!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Very difficult for me to tell what's happening on the screen due to all the visual effects and shifting colors. I felt like I was going to get eye strain!

The music sounds nice but it was overpowered by the grating bullet sound effect playing on loop. The sound effect for the bullet really should have been a longer looping sound that represented lots of bullets being fired instead of hundreds of instances of the same sound, it could have been smoother that way.

I couldn't tell if the falling shapes did anything or not when I touched them, if not then they add more clutter to the screen. The actual ship bullets were very hard to see to the point where I just shot at the enemies without trying to evade anything.

There is potential here but you'll definitely need to smooth out a lot of bumps.

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Nice bullet hell. The graphics is very funny at first time, but at the second time i was blinded) However, it is nice entry.

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I have the same inset window glitch that others are getting. Most likely it is due to resolution. A windowed build with a set resolution would probably solve that.

As pretty much everyone else has said: nice graphical style, good music, interesting effects but the gameplay suffers for them.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice style and fun effects, but a bit too much. Some of the effects made it very difficult to figure out what was going on on the screen at times. The sound of your shooting got kind of annoying at times, as well. Overall, good job, a few tweaks to make it a little less busy (could still keep the same effects, but maybe just tone them down a bit) and it could be very, very fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]