Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mazes of Random

by fragileannihilator - Jam Entry

Your goal is to make your way through the labyrinth, which is a set of rooms with randomly generated properties. Every room has two doors and all you have to do is to choose one of them. There are signs near each door, which indicate what would happen if you enter that door. If your health or lamp fuel reaches zero, you lose.

Room types:
1) [hearth] Restores a cretain amount of your HP
2) [skull] Deals you a certain amount of damage
3) [lantern] Restores a certain amount of lamp fuel
4) [teleport] Teleports you to a random lower level room
5) [?] - Any of the above

I wantded to sumbit a Compo entry, but didn't finish on time. If you want, I can provide you with a *.capx project file



Tools:

Engine: Construct 2
Art: Construct 2 built-in editor, Photoshop CS3, Paint.net
Sound: Zoom H2n, Audacity, cgMusic, Cubase Elements 7 + VST plug-ins.
Everything was created by me within 72 hours.



If you are going to write a comment, please state whether it was hard for you to figure out the game mechanics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#116Theme(Jam)4.16
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#221Innovation(Jam)3.55
#239Humor(Jam)3.21
#255Audio(Jam)3.49
#261Overall(Jam)3.60
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#462Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Good game! Nice concept! Keep polishing it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Funny Sound effects, interesting concept the mini map helped a lot!

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

A good little game. Neat use of the theme.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Very very nice idea. Graphics are efficient. I could buy a polished version with a good graphic designer's service. Well done.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Good concept. Nice graphics.

cgriff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Nice idea - I think I completed it, but I wasn't quite sure though...

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Not bad, very nice idea. If you make so the game is less about luck and more about finding the best way it could be awesome. Good job!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

It's a good kind of different :)

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Super fun!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Awesome! Impressive visuals, and amusing sound effects.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

pretty neat game! but not a lot too it, just felt like a betting game, where sometimes you have obvious choices, and sometimes you just get bad choices. i liked it though

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:05am

Nice little game, it actually isn't bad exploration. The sounds were quite amusing :)

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:30am

i was in the same boat with the running out of time during the compo and submitting for jam, the graphics look nice, and theres plenty of fitting sound and music. i didnt have much trouble completing. maybe i got lucky hehe. the layout of the rooms is quite interesting.. like there could be other things to add maybe? nice work! favourite room: the abyss type one with chunks of land where the doors are

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Nice game, mechanics are intuitive.
Secret to reaching the end is to NEVER take teleports, i will gladly take damage over random teleportation that will take me back 2-3 rooms or event to the start.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Fits very well with the theme! Maybe in the future would be cool if you introduce some NPCs to talk to ;-)

Good job! =)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:50pm

I think you did really well in the improvements you've made since you posted a version on the blog. The different room types are cool, and it felt like you had a choice to make every time, good work

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

A bit too random, but I really like the aesthetic. Would probably be cooler if the fifty-fifty rooms would stay the way they're rolled, even if you teleport (more strategy).

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

nice, interesting game, even if you didnt do all you wanted, it's pretty complete, well done

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Interesting take on theme, though, complete random, this was an interesting adventure.
The moments when you get a heart or lamp instead of damage three times in a row feels really good.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Hey there fellow construct user! :)
Thought the game was nice and the art was good. It was an original concept and choice-making was interesting, perhaps it would be more fun with a little less of randomness.

good job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:20am

Nice game!, good use of theme, like the music and graphics, the random way of choosing 50-50 ... good concept. great job! (it's not crap :D )

lawendt says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:09am

Really cool game, I loved everything on it. I could play for hours just to look for new variations of doors. The best thing in your game, is that there's feedbacks for everything with good audio and a very pleasant do see minimap. Anyway, keep up with the awesome work!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I liked it :)

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very interesting and good idea. I must say that I really enjoyed it ... I kept saying: again now that the ladies: D It's not difficult but it fulfilled the task, and it's fun .. 4 stars;)

gladers says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Loved it, fantastic game! I played it through several times, I will be recommending! :D

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:08am

Very innovative I like it. The teleport make the game more interesting since you can use your map informations.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:03am

Pro:
+ Very interesting concept
+ Cool use of theme
+ Audio and graphics are great
Con:
- I felt it could have either more randomness or more strategy to the choice of doors

Great work!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:07am

Very nice idea but the randomness feels way too punishing, especially the teleportation. Pretty polished entry nonetheless.

StrehFox says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:58am

There's something here, just needs a little dusting off to find the gem underneath.

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:29am

Funny and great use of the concept! at first i didn´t know how to advance but after a few trys I catch it, and really like it!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:35am

Nice game. Really like graphics and sound it's pretty immersive. I missed some more rooms but good job though

OccamsRazor says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Very cool use of the theme, well made!

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Really unique concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]