Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake

by JoshyOshKenoshi - Compo Entry

A simple, two-button version of Snake. I was a bit out of practice, and also had quite a lot of other stuff going on on the Saturday, so I decided to go for something relatively straightforward, but which fitted both themes.

In Snake, your aim is to grow as long as possible. You grow by eating apples, which appear at random locations on the screen. The game ends when you collide either with a wall or with yourself.

The left and right arrow keys change your direction.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Theme4.19
#461Audio2.67
#586Fun3.00
#632Overall3.06
#693Graphics2.69
#933Innovation1.88
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

A bit tricky playing it with just left and right turn and not the normal WASD. Got the hang of it pretty fast, so it was less of a challenge. Reminds me of many hours wasted in FastTracker II Nibbles :)

mattrified says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice take on the classic game. When blocks appeared adjacent to walls, it became pretty hard to dodge, but as a snake fan, nice job, :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

thanks for making the classic - someone had to do it

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Cool version

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Got 44!

Stending says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Simple, but yet really fun and great to play!
Congratulations, that's really the kind of things I like to see in LD!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Well, it is a classic game I totally forgot when it came to the themes. Both themes covered perfectly, it's kind of cool. The thing is, within the time limit it could have been improved in 3 ways I somewhat miss:

#1 Whenever I see "personal best score" I want to see it grow when my actual score reaches it. Like those awesome arcade ports for NES and SNES. I want to see both the score and personal score grow at the same time. Without that, snake is just not the same. xD
#2 Visuals.
#3 Music.

The implementation of both themes is 200% perfect nonetheless and I really respect that!

SusanTheCat says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:45pm

I don't like it when it is stuck on the wall. :( Controls are responsive. Congratulations on K.I.S.S.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]