Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Emergency Cleanup

by dcRfj15 - Jam Entry

A game with only 2 controls (A) and (D). (To switch from the starting screen to the game, press either (A) or (D)).

Fly your rocket around and clean up all of the toxic waste, disabling lasers with your very own water gun along the way.

The "Java" download is the 72 hour game download (Note: From what I understand, this version will crash with certain Linux versions).

The "Post-Jam Bugfix" version is the same as the original 72 hour version except that it fixes a rare Linux crash, and one of the sounds was softened (to respect users with headphones).

Anyway, I hope that you enjoy it :D

Known Issues:
- There is a bug where the number of toxic waste canisters which the player has cleaned up is persistent between games. Thus, every successive round where the player cleans up toxic waste, it becomes easier to beat the game. Unfortunately the only fix for this issue is to relaunch the game.

Made using:
- Java + Swing
- Tiled
- Bfxr
- Audacity
- Paint.NET
- Eclipse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#704Audio(Jam)2.12
#705Innovation(Jam)2.85
#705Humor(Jam)2.29
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#829Overall(Jam)2.97
#903Mood(Jam)2.54
#949Graphics(Jam)2.36

Comments

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Crashes both in the Jam version and in the bugfixed version on startup. If you only fix that startup issue you can just reupload your Jam version.

Stacktrace:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at net.dcRfj15.main.Application.main(Application.java:29)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid format
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.createStream(PulseAudioDataLine.java:142)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:99)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:283)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:402)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:453)
at net.dcRfj15.audio.AudioFile.<init>(AudioFile.java:28)
at net.dcRfj15.main.Game.<clinit>(Game.java:45)
... 1 more

Gets printed right after "menu.png"

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The controls weren't amazing, seemed fun enough.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Pretty fun! I liked how much you manage to do in terms of control with only two buttons. You can navigate in all directions and even shoot. The SFX were pretty harsh thought, the engine one gets annoying because it's the main thing you hear all game, and the "laser destroyed" one blew my ear drums. I think turning faster when using only one engine would also increase playability.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:37am

Not bad. Not great either. The controls were well done for only using two buttons. Was the purpose of the long beginning to teach players the controls?

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

@Move127 - Yeah, that was its original intent. I realized that I should have probably made the beginning more challenging, as it is kinda tedious as is. I ran out of time and so wasn't able to make it more interesting.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:45am

Kinda reminds me of moon lander game from old PCs

Juin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48am

I feel like the problem witht the feel were, that it was very slow to accelerate and no way to accelerate faster manually. It took me a good 2 minutes just to get down to the first area and then i died, really frustating to have to go all the way down there so slowly.

rockford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Fun to control, but did not find obvious what to do and where to go... I can see a room with red lasers on the right but no way to enter.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34pm

You start out wishing there were front thrusters, but you get kind of used to it after a while. I'd say the theme was well executed, even if manoeuvring was a bit tedious. It still managed to demand some focus. Did kind of miss checkpoints though.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:09am

I like the idea and I can see what you were going for, but I did find that the controls were too responsive for my liking. (The drone instantly halts its rotation when you fire a different thruster.)
That said, the game was fun and the concept was a good one. With a little touching up on some of the controls, the graphics (the engine trails weren't centred properly) and the sound (oh God the headache!), I reckon that you've got a pretty good game in there. :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:02pm

@Skruffye @Bobsleigh
I definitely have to work on my sound effects for the next Ludum Dare. I apologize for the sound effects being obnoxious and/or too loud.


By the way, thank you to everyone who played my game. I really appreciate all of the constructive comments! As a fairly new game dev it really helps me when I hear all of the feedback on my game. Hopefully my next game will be even better than this one :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:09pm

@rockford - You are supposed to travel down into the cave, on the bottom right of the cave you go down there is an opening into another room. I probably should work on making my level design more intuitive. I realized later on that my walls and cave tiles look very similar.

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Haha, not bad. First game I've played that had a decent mechanic for moving freely in four directions with only two buttons. Collision detection and audio were a bit lacking though. Might I recommend that you give the ship a faster acceleration and a speed limit?

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

i really liked that one, level design is great, with a place to learn how to move, a simple way to use the weapon... It's talented

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Nice particle effects

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

The ship was very hard to control, but i got used to it in the end. I couldn't figure out how to get to the cave on the right, either :(

orion_black says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Interesting take on the theme it reminded me of snaking in Mario Kart. I think the game would greatly improved(have a more fluid feel) from either having a more open, less angled level design or "rounding" collisions with corners.

Given that I self immolated a couple times when miss shooting laser emitters I would say breaks and a shoot button could considerably improve your game. Even without, I really enjoyed the level of movement expressiveness packed in just two buttons.

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:13am

Getting the same problem as @WebFreak001, but the error message is different for both versions.

Final:
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: No line matching interface Clip supporting format PCM_SIGNED unknown sample rate, 16 bit, stereo, 4 bytes/frame, big-endian is supported.

Fixed:
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: No line matching interface Clip supporting format PCM_SIGNED 44100.0 Hz, 16 bit, mono, 2 bytes/frame, little-endian is supported.

Both seem to be thrown from line 29 of Application.java like in @WebFreak001:s case.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]