Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tower of Pizza

by OnePixelMonster - Jam Entry

Tower of Pizza is a multi-player, one button action game for 2 to 4 players... ON THE SAME KEYBOARD! Hold your action button down until the pizza is cooked (the line goes from red to green) then release. That's it! Just don't burn it!

-Stack pizza boxes as high as you can in the allotted time. Who ever has the talest tower wins!
-All players play on one keyboard.
-Above all, do NOT poke your friends in the ribs. Because that would be cheating and cheating is not nice at all.

Note: I had very little time to spend on this LD, which explains why the gameplay is kind of thin... Thanks job I dont like at all! Anyways, its thin but pretty fun, especially with a few friends. Enjoy!

Known bug(s):
-Scoring is a bit broken. Ties especialy. Oops.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#785Innovation(Jam)2.72
#908Graphics(Jam)2.50
#911Theme(Jam)3.06
#1024Fun(Jam)2.33
#1091Overall(Jam)2.39
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

There needs to be more to do in the game. Just pressing a button does nothing.

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice minigame, but i think it lacks depth, maybe also using the button to stack the boxes like other tower building games would be nice. But its nice overall for the time you had.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Not too bad?

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Good idea for a multiplayer game, though some more skill would have added to the fun. Nice graphics and music!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Pizza!!!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Game itself is pretty fun but it definitely needs some extra depth like maybe making the green area smaller as the player's tower gets taller.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

A bit boring :/

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Nice multiplayer try, but is boring just press a button. With more deep the multiplayer will be more fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]