Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sushi Roll

by adsilcott - Jam Entry

Escape to the ocean!

You are Fugu, a pufferfish kidnapped from your ocean home and brought to a mountaintop restaurant by a crazed sushi chef who wants nothing more than to feature you on his menu! Lucky for you, you’ve managed to slip his net just as you reach his door. Time to roll away home!

Guide Fugu down the mountain and back to the safety of the ocean by doing what a pufferfish does best — puffing up! But beware that the chef will not let you go easily… and a whole mountain of tricky obstacles and hungry cats stands between you and freedom!

Instructions:

- Press Z to inflate yourself, giving you a speedy hop and enough size to survive a cat attack!

- Press X to deflate yourself, giving you the maneuverability to slip over and under obstacles without breaking your stride!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Theme(Jam)4.20
#153Humor(Jam)3.49
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#183Fun(Jam)3.61
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#466Audio(Jam)3.11

Comments

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10am

One of the best entries I've played so far. The visuals are fantastic and the whole thing just felt very polished. Very cool!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Very cool interpretation of the theme. Well polished

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

One of the funnest games I've played thus far. Audio could use some work and the bg music cut out for me during one of the runs so all I could hear was the fish and the pummeling of cats. :)

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37am

A little heads up about the sound effects would have been grand, played this at work with the sound up..... Very fun game though, well done!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Haha, this is awesome! ...but poor cats :(

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Funny game! When I started to feel more comfortable with it, I was making such matrix dodges that I most died from laughter... then lost.

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

A very good game, the best I've played so far ! Your interpretation of the theme is SO FUN haha.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

It was unfortunate that the only obstacle was the same tree. The idea was very cool and I so trampled that cat haha!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

I liked the game a lot! For some reason the sound the fish makes when it shrinks sounds really satisfying to me :D. I also liked how the sushi place is built on top of such a steep hill, lol...

Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

The game works and looks very good and polished, but i found it a bit boring and i had the feeling that i didn't have a lot of control.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48am

A nice way to blend the two themes, good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52am

I really liked the oil painting style texturing, especially the background

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I liked it, and nice graphics. Is it on purpose that rapidly alternating between grow and shrink makes you accelerate?

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Beautiful visuals, very impressive, and quite fun too!

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

A fun game, nice art style, simple and addictive gameplay... Congrats!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

A deeply inspiring work of art.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Loved this, fitted great to the theme and showed what you can fit in 72 hours.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Very funny and unique little endless runner! I loved the physics-based mechanics and the overall idea is hilarious! Keep up the good work!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cool game, I can't believe someone even managed to come up with such a simple and genius idea.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Fun game! I would have loved a shadow under Fugu, but it's still a very very fun and smart game <3

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

@Gins: It seems to be working right, you accelerate when you inflate near the ground.
@ Christina: We didn't notice that the WebGL version doesn't have shadows until too late, so we just added that to the post jam version!
Thanks!!

Ludic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Fun game, very well explored theme, but the music did not match very well

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:16am

Kudos on the graphics. Looks very nice

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:43am

This was a fun game! The audio was fun!

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:31am

nice job. the graphics are quite impressive and the gameplay is simple but interesting.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:31pm

solid idea for both themes!

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:06pm

cool gameidea! and the graphics are great
does the roll actually end in the ocean?

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Really nice game! :D Had fun playing it

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:28am

Pretty well-polished game, although the random spawns sometimes makes it impossible. Still, well done!

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:26am

really nice 3d graphics

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Fun game, works really well

cacciatc says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Best use of the themes I've played so far!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:11am

Really fun. It actually took me awhile to figure out I can inflate more than once lol.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

5/5 in every category, one of the best ludum dare games i have ever play, amazing and thanks for your comment too, pretty nice, good luck!!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

Really well made. Each category of a game has been worked on and given time. The chef does get a little quick on some parts but overall pretty fun.

I think some power ups or ways to boost would of made it even better.

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Loved the art, very slick gameplay and a unique take on the theme!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:10am

much fun - the sounds were great - wanted to keep playing

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Nice entry. Would have been nice with some more obstacles, but quite beautiful and fun nonetheless.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I love that you are rolling to avoid becoming sushi. This entry has elements to what I was aiming for had I had a designer or more design skills myself ;) Well executed infinite… roller.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

A well executed and polished entry. There are a few issues however:

- Sometimes there's a cat right after a tree or right in front of a tree. In these situations there's nothing you can do to avoid dying or slowing down so much that you're caught. You should make sure that cats are not spawned in such places.

- The chef should slow down when traversing steep hills. Right now if he's close by when going down such a hill, he'll run down faster than the fish can fall and waits there to catch the fish.

- A restart hotkey would be ace.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Thanks for the great constructive feedback HuvaaKoodia!

-We were kind of debating the cat under the tree: there's a specific size you can be that will get you under the tree and past the cat, but if you aren't aware of that it can seem impossible, and in some instances it is anyway, so I'm working on a fix for that for the next version.

-Also working on a fix for the chef on the hill. It's part of revamping the chef speed mechanic in general.

-If you hit escape it pauses and brings up a menu to return to the main menu, but yeah I like restart hotkeys in this kind of game, so that would be a good addition.

After the new year we're planning a new version with lots of other cool additions as well! Thanks to everyone for the encouragement!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:44am

very nice! i takes a bit time to figure out how it works but then it makes fun! great entry!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Really enjoyed this, actually had more fun seeing how high and far I could bounce! I felt the game was a little too easy but other than that it was great! One of my favourites so far! ^^

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Fantastic idea - loved playing it!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Nicely executed ! ;)
Just sometime the level load cats just after a tree, and when it append if 80% of game over. :'(
Nice post mortem, Blender Rules ! :p

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Cool aesthetic with a great idea. Good job!

Didi says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:17pm

very funny! nice work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Nicely executed ! ;)
Just sometime the level load cats just after a tree, and when it append if 80% of game over. :'(
Nice post mortem, Blender Rules ! :p

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Love the modeling and texturing on your fish and chef!

FROGANUS says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Awesome little game. Great models.
After several runs perfecting my flying fish technique (always mashing puff button) I scored 2854. Where's the ocean? Can you outrun the Chef? It seems like he gets an inescapable speed burst after a little while...

As mentioned, the tree obstacle is a little played out, a couple more alternate obstacles would be nice. Also shadows would be nice, especially to give a sense of when you hit the ground. Also the animations for getting caught by chef or cat are maybe lacking? You could probably fake something by overlaying claw or knife swipes using sprites or something?
Cool jam!
-FROGANUS

gplord says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:52pm

@Froganus -- (One of the game's devs here) Thanks for the feedback! Just wanted to see if you'd be interested to compare the jam version with the "Post-Jam" version (linked below the game), to see if we're adequately addressing some of the things you mention so far. I mention because a few of the changes were things you noticed -- so we've cleaned up the cat animation, added a shadow below the fish, and slowed the chef down at least a little bit. (But you're right that the ocean is unreachable for now! We've been calling this our "high score endless" mode for now, haha!) Thanks very much again, and we'd love to hear your thoughts on some of those updates!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]