Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Ice

by petercraft - Jam Entry

‚ÄčNice endless runner created in 72 hours for the 34th edition of Ludum Dare Game Jam. Hope you enjoy it.


--- How to play ---
Use the A, Z or Left key to get smaller. D, X or Right key to get bigger.
You can press two of them (for example: A and Right key) to activate your super attack.
You can take screenshots by pressing the Up key.
And to pause the game, press Esc, when your game is paused press again Esc to exit to the title menu!
To kill enemy, you have to be the same size it is.

The icon in the lower right corner shows you whether your super attack is available, the hearts in your higher right corner show you your health.

Created by AMYMIST and Petercraft.

WARNING: You HAVE TO have JAVA Version 8 at least. You can google: "Java JRE", and it should give you the official site.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#550Humor(Jam)2.60
#609Audio(Jam)2.73
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

wavegunner232 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

4.5 its really great just not the MOST innovative

Gipzo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Couldn't run your game on windows. It doesn't know how to run .jar files.

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great graphics ! Congrats for using both themes. Miss some soundtrack but nice otherwise

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I played another jam game with nearly identical controls (get bigger / smaller and navigate narrow gaps), but this had the breaking obstacles based on size. Love the look of this one but didn't get much out of the gameplay.

petercraft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

You have to have Java version 8 at least

petercraft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Yeah, one of my weaknesses is the music and the sound effects :/

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

very nice, congratulations

Yazara says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

The artstyle looks really nice!
The sound effects overall are nice, apart from the sound of the monster behind you, which is too intrusive.
And why does the character get faster when it shrinks?

petercraft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Thx so much, :D

An_error says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Great game, needed some music though.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Awesome art

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Pixel art is art :)

mat1er says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Great!

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Very Good! I <3 all of the art and the concept!

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:01am

Challenging and fun.
The game is a nice departure from "eat things smaller than yourself" games. The animation was good, the art was nice and overall the game was fun. Good job! :)

petercraft says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:05am

Thx XD

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:20am

Interesting idea , I liked it !

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:32am

I really enjoyed the visual style of the game, the pixel art was impressive, and a good level of detail was put into the main aspects of the game. The endless runner mechanics were solid, but I think a few design decisions could have been better. One example is the monsters which you have to be the same size to kill, it feels strange taking a hit from a tiny monster when you are so massive, and the icicles already give you an incentive to shrink. As well as that, there wasn't really an incentive to go fast, I think that perhaps slowing down enough should also lose you a life, as it could really help the pacing of the game. This could also show off the monster better, and make it feel like more of a persistent threat rather than a reminder of your health. Overall a great job though :)

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:58am

Very good sounds and graphisms !

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:18pm

That cute dinosaur was fun to control! A nice twist for the endless runners.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:19pm

*insert random big monster sound here* mercy!?
Well working game and graphics, monster noise could have been a tad bit lower. (got frightened the first time I heard it but after that it got more annoyning the longer I kept playing)

Jerre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

One of the best I've played yet. Nice atmosphere, and good use of both themes.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice graphics and good take on the theme :)

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

really fun game, liked the art and theidea alot

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Simple but fun game. I liked the graphics, so bad there is no sound. Good job ^^

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:25am

Nice animation and use of both themes. Very nice entry!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:19am

it takes some time to learn but it makes fun! well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]