Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Easy Job?

by TajamSoft - Compo Entry

Easy Job?

Cook Fast

In this game you have to control up to 3 machines at the same time (You are recommended to play with friends though), each one has its own control method.

The objective is to "survive" as long as you can, when your life drops under zero, you will "die"!

Instructions:

You have 3 machines:

SlapChop: The one at the right, you control it by pressing [K]. You break aliments.
MeatChop: The one at the middle, you control it by holding [J]. You fill a basket with meat
Coffee Machine: The one at the left, you toggle it on/off by pressing [V]. You fill a coffee cup.
You must match the stuff they make with the stuff the sign at their top displays.
It may seem like an easy task, but controlling 3 machines at the same time is really hard! Try to get a friend to control some of the machines!

In the main menu you can disable some of the machines, or change the difficulty! You can only disable 2 machines at the same time.

Difficulty changes how many points you lose by not matching an item, and changes the behaviour of the SlapChop.

Tips:

Get a friend to play with you!!
Disable some of the machines in the Main Menu
Focus on the SlapChop and MeatChop, as the Coffee Machine is easier to control!
Known Bugs:

When you lose, in the "Game Over" screen, there are some zeroes at the bottom, no idea what's causing it!

Feel free to report any bugs you find!

Note: If you have issues playing, try Chrome! (Or Chromium!)

---------------------------------------------------------------
Will soon upload a Github source link. I have to sleep >_>
---------------------------------------------------------------

Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Graphics3.61
#393Audio2.82
#521Innovation3.11
#529Humor2.27
#734Mood2.56
#877Overall2.67
#938Fun2.11
#960Theme1.88
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Not exactly sure how this is supposed to work. It seems that the chopper isn't working for me (i.e. I press K when the bubble fills with some food) and nothing happens. Also, the sound gets a bit grating and shouldn't go on past the game over screen. Cool concept though.

zguba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Waaay to much bass on making coffe sound. My headphones were vibreting like hell. But generally game is fine :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09pm

I liked the idea, and the game looks really great. The music ok but you don't really notice it after a few seconds. The gameplay is kind of weird, it sometimes seems like the devices don't react (especially the one on the right). Fun game to play though.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Interesting idea and nice graphics. It's pretty challenging to stay alive, I didn't mange to do that for very long. But I don't understand the connection to the theme.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

A good idea, and it might be a good execution, but I just couldn't really figure out what was going on.

There needs to be a bit more in the way of instructions, as it's not very intuitive. I could never quite figure out what I was supposed to do, on some machines I think I was supposed to hold, but on the coffee machine, I just had to press it to turn it on or off? And how "exact" did I need to be to match the pictures at top?

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:18pm

That need for pixel perfection is just making it impossible to solo imho.

That said, it's an interesting concept and brings definitely more challenge than all the cook serve delicious-y games out there ;)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Good aesthetics. I'm not sure how to play though. I press the buttons when the bubble flashes black but I'm not sure if I'm making progress on the machines on the right. I tried pressing repeatedly and holding the button. More visual feedback would be helpful.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:59pm

I think there's a bug with the Slap Clop as no matter how much I mash K nothing actually happens

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:09am

The idea is good but I don't really get into the game. The graphics and the sounds are really cool though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]