Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Avoid the Graters

by petitpois - Compo Entry

I didn't have as much time as I wanted so I only did one level. First attempt at a puzzle/platformer. Working solo I didn't get to make any music but I did the sound effects and ran out of time to do animations.

Story

Horia has been captured by the Graters and destined to be made into salad. You are Zane a wise carrot who needs to find and rescue Horia in each level avoiding the graters and beating the clock!

Move = Left/Right Arrows
Grow Carrots = X+Up arrow

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#256Graphics3.55
#287Humor2.79
#633Mood2.75
#673Overall3.00
#692Innovation2.77
#776Fun2.68
#892Theme2.90
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

felilix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Nice graphics and sound effects. I rescued Gloria!

petitpois says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Thanks

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Art is charming but the controls need to be more precise.

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really enjoyed it ;)

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Nice art!
It felt a little odd at first because of lack of feedback. I didn't understand why I lost at first, then I noticed the timer during my next play!
I managed to rescue Horia, but it wasn't easy :-)
Congratulations!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Controls are... wonky. But love the concept all around. Very interesting mechanic to grow the carrots instead of jumping. Great job!

petitpois says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Thanks. Could get controls work my as good as o wanted but, I'll keep working on it

psychomonster says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:18am

A really nice idea. I like carrots a lot cause I'm veg ;D +1 for this.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Cute graphics, if simple. Gameplay was a little weird and unnatural, I understand how you wanted to fit with the theme but it just doesn't feel quite right yet.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Hey nice time playing this. Entertaining but too short. Well done!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Hello!
For me, this game would benefit from greater difference between foreground/interaction-layer and background, also more precise controls.
Nice looking characters!

petitpois says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Thanks for the feedback :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]