Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sheldon

by narve - Jam Entry

Sheldon, a carnivorous plant, isn't quite satisfied with being a few inches tall. He's heard of the Redwood Trees, and he knows that plants can tower over animals. He's jealous. He's jealous, and he'll eat everything until you can see him from miles away!

Somewhat unfortunately, he doesn't have a whole lot of fighting moves in his arsenal. In fact, he can really only do two things: move forwards (shift key) and attack (spacebar).

Note: there isn't really a set number of creatures in each level. They just kind of spawn in at random intervals. That being said, if you keep walking through the level without stopping, your food bar might not be full at the end. This is mostly an issue with the first two levels.

Credits:
Art:
-Shiro
-S.K.
-and a few things by Andrew

Music:
-Andrew

SFX:
-Andrew
-Frank (narve)

Programming:
-Frank (narve)

Technologies Used:
-Game Maker Studio
-GIMP
-Paint.NET
-FamiTracker
-BFXR
-Audacity

...something something F4 for fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#389Humor(Jam)2.87
#457Audio(Jam)3.13
#542Fun(Jam)3.13
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#719Mood(Jam)2.97
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

Love the concept and art. Very silly and super fun.

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

Fun!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Look nice!

Osaft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Got a bug at the first Stage. Where I had to restart over and over again because I could not gather enough food even though I ate everything.

The plant and the Envoirment dont seem to fit to each other, Nice music (1st & 2nd Part), Had some fun but overall OK

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07pm

At first I thought, man what a cheap game, but after brainlessly hitting the space button I noticed that I was enjoying it a lot, even more when I noticed I could walk, especially with the 8-bit music in the background. The creature is also really cute. When I died I was bummed out that I had to restart the whole game, instead of continuing with the level I was on, because I wanted to play more and reach the end, but did not want to start over.

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

Good game!

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28pm

fun game and great concept, loved the music :)

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:11am

Good music and very fun!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:16am

8-bit music is good but the graphics downgrade each level

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:10am

I loved the carnivorous plant. I had lot of fun with the game. The first time I run the game, there was no music, but in the second time there was.

Jerre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Strange experience. Something really grabbed me, but also a lot of small things put me off. Sadly it was too slow and too difficult so I couldn't get very far, but I really wanted to know how it would've ended. Sometimes it was a bit frustrating that I could not eat quickly enough, also the first 2 levels were already quite difficult. Maybe it would've been more fun to not restart to level 1, but to the level where you died. But nice effort!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Hard game, but it's so much fun and crazy, it's great anyway ^^ Well done !

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Great audio and fun game :)
Nice work!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:13am

The game is a bit simple. I was going to say it was easy but then I got mauled by flies.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The graphics were pretty and the actual gameplay was a nice idea as well.
I wish that when the player died the level restarted as opposed to the entire game restarting. Also it was a little annoying when the player didn't have enough food after racing through the level. It would be nice if the game had made it much harder to reach the level without having enough food.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:26am

Initially fun, but as you beat levels the game becomes frustrating as losing means losing all your progress - this happens often, too, as the enemies damage by a LOT and hearts don't heal for as much meaning each mistake costs you far too much.

On the upside, the first level is fun and the art and music were quite nice.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]