Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grunnist

by Alpenter - Jam Entry

"Grunnist" is a randomly generated endless runner! (With a gun included!) Everything is random! Map sections, enemy color, weather, and even the floor tiles!
Kill goopy slimes and run a further distance to get a higher score. Collect a power-up to help in your genocidal quest.

There is probably some other feature I can't think of... Idunno I'm tired ok?

A little disclaimer: A made most of this game while on an airplane. I'm lucky to have gotten this game out! Hurray for perseverance! This is also my THIRD LD game in a row and I didn't want to break the streak.
I also went with the "Two Buttons" theme as opposed to the other one

Credits:
Art, Audio, Programming - Alex Carpenter (@Alpenter)
...That is all...


-UPDATE-
The Linux version should work now! Sorry about that... :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#76Fun(Jam)3.85
#245Overall(Jam)3.62
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#382Theme(Jam)3.81
#597Audio(Jam)2.75
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

Pontus_LSS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Really cool game! Found some graphics glitches like when the looping background sometimes disappears but otherwise, fun and nice looking game, good job!

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Was very fun to play ! I like the art style, simple but good :)

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Nice and simple, loving the art style!

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Adorable. Lovely. Fantastic. Fun. Other words that mean "you did an awesome job and you should be proud, congratulations!".

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57pm

like the weather changes. ;)

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

You managed to get a lot in for a 'flight' game. The different backgrounds where cool. The overall feeling was pretty good. I found some parts very hard to beat, like the 3 shoot fat guy.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

Was fun to play, I enjoyed the retro-styled graphics and sound FXs!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13am

Very simple yet very fun. The shooting combined with the infinite runner was a good touch as it surprisingly makes the game far more challenging. Graphics and audio are very suitable for the game. The rain is very noisy though in my honest opinion. Apart from that, great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Linux d/l only contains one file. You run that file and it says:

Set current directory to ./Downloads
Found path: ./Downloads/Grunnist.x86
There is no data folder

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

$ sudo ./Grunnist.x86
Set current directory to /home/caninelizard/Downloads
Found path: /home/caninelizard/Downloads/Grunnist.x86
There is no data folder

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Great Game, very fun !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

It's pretty fun. I like well-thought tile presets. It makes level less random, but more interesting. Particle effects and sound is OK to. It's really hard to pay attention to obstacles and enemies at the same time, but I walked pretty far by holding Right key and pressing Up time to time.

Luxorix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

528 m record! Good game!

Alpenter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Fixing the Linux issue right now!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Good job, especially given the time you had to work in. Some BG music would have helped it a lot, but the graphics and controls were good.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Pretty fun! Love the monsters.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I like the animation of the guy! This is a good runner, I like it, good job!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

damm, almost got 1k points. only 4 were missing *cry* erm, good game^^

herniewise says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27am

Nice entry!

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28am

This game is by far the one of the best LD games I have played well done.

eprincev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48am

GREAT!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Had fun getting as far as I could! I like the fluorescent, washed out pixel art. Interesting look. Also, even though the variety is neat, I wished it always rained in the game- -- the rain ambiance really does a lot for the game, sound-wise. Or maybe have music in the sunny sections. Good job on this.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Loved the design in the main character, and the rest of the graphics are cute too, haha. Nice game, well done!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Crashes for me on startup on Linux :(

Importing game controller configs
Aborted (core dumped)

Alpenter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I've never heard of an error like that! I'm sorry I don't know what to do about that! D: Do you think you can give me more details?

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I love the run cycle. So simple, but so cute! Solid entry, nice job!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Good game nice sfx, but i think if you make a background music it will be more enjoyable

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:28am

498 points.. not great, but it was that 2 spike followed by a big blob! i couldnt shoot enough to get him :( I think this is very stylish with the pixels and vectory effects that look like pixels, ideal use of the theme, and rain and sound fx too, the enemies were cool. nice work

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:36am

Awesome!! I loved it! Congratulations!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:32am

@Alpenter: I ran the game through GDB and got a bit more info...
I can get to the Unity config screen, choose Windowed and press OK.
Once the Unity window is shown it crashes with the SIGPWR signal followed by a SIGXCPU signal.
A quick Google search tells me this signal is sent to processes using too much CPU time, like too recursive functions.
Hope this helps.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Simple but funny. I scored 2k :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Super nice pixels, dood.

tweedle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I liked this a lot, fun to replay. Nice work!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I really like the semi random nature of your endless runner/platformer/shooter (and I havent said that to anyone yet)

The random weather set the mood real nice. You made some very smart choices with the aesthetic that allowed you to focus on the gameplay-- and i think that shows.

one question: does this go on forever? I dunno if it did or if I'm just very bad at it.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:14pm

All the little details really make this. Nice entry. :)

Alpenter says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:31pm

@Weeping Rupee - Yep! It goes on forever!

@MemoryLeek - Really sorry, I can't seem to recreate the issue on my friends Linux! Sorry! D:

sausage_squad says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:06am

Good work, nice graphics and simple but fun gameplay, i think the only thing missing would some background music

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I really liked it. Had a lot of small things which made it interesting to play and look at.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]