Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceship buttons

by celisoft - Jam Entry

In this short game, you will have to control your spaceship through 2 buttons.
Multiple scenarii are possible.

This game is a demo / proof-of-concept made with HTML5 / PhaserJS.

Thanks for playing !
--
Céline & Zoé

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#603Graphics(Jam)3.28
#791Innovation(Jam)2.71
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#1033Overall(Jam)2.61
#1071Fun(Jam)2.06
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

The idea is good, I really liked the browser thing, with multiple windows showing info.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

This could be the start of a nice idea really. I seemed to complete it after two moves.. so you weren't kidding about it being short. :)

hcosta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Really nice entry, loved the concept but it was short, I wanted more! I imagine this game with music and SFX, super cool :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Seems very unfinished, pressed two buttons and the game completed... Neat idea at least. Needs work.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very interesting concept, spoiled by a sub-par implementation, in my opinion. For some reason it takes forever before your choice is accepted, text take a million years to be revealed. Want to see more work put into it.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

really short, and unfinished. Feel like it could have been easily expanded to be much longer....

jmf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Nice idea, bit short but I love the style and the art is lovely.

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43am

I felt the text display took too long. I liked the idea, and with a little more complex story I could have actually played this a little longer. Unfortunately I won too fast too really be able to enjoy it^^ The turning stars look charming.

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44am

I felt the text display took too long. I liked the idea, and with a little more complex story I could have actually played this a little longer. Unfortunately I won too fast too really be able to enjoy it^^ But not before loosing once, because the AI decided to self-destruct. Had a good laugh at this xD
The turning stars look charming.

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45am

(we need a edit comment function)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

It's unfinished, but it's a nice start for a choose-your-own-adventure game. I would speed up the text though, or allow insta-finishing typing it.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:33am

I think the game has very good potential. However, the fact that it takes a very long time for your choices to register was a bit concerning.

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

The game is too short but the cocept is intresting. Nice job!

Frozen Stick says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:24pm

This is cool but it's pretty goddamn short!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]