Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flower: Icarus

by Kaupenjoe - Compo Entry

So my first Ludum Dare done. Well it was quite exhausting...

Flower: Icarus is a game in which you play a flower that... well... wants to take over the world (naturally), so how do you do that?
OF COURSE: you build a Deathstar out of the Moon (Which is made out of Cookie btw.)
So go on and Build and GROW to destroy humanity once and for all! :P

CONTROLS:

WASD - Pans Camera around
Mousewheel - Zooms in and out

Known Bugs:

- When the Tooltips are just blank boxes then you have to fiddle around with the zoom levels.

I'll warn you though, the graphics are "bad" (in the I'm a programmer sense) and the music and sound design is basically non-existent. Hope you still have fun with my first Ludum Dare game. :D

My entire progress was streamed and can be watched here (German Commentary though):
http://www.hitbox.tv/Kaupenjoe/videos

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#443Humor2.44
#543Audio2.50
#803Mood2.37
#804Innovation2.53
#860Theme3.05
#884Overall2.65
#886Graphics1.89
#904Fun2.30
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

PsycHead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I like the idea, Growth lends itself to clicker games! A major problem I see is that you can easily 'lock' yourself at times by not generating enough of a certain resource. Since you can't delete grown parts that basically means Game Over, which is bad for this type of game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

nice game dude.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I eventually figured out how to play by trial and error, but its very easy to mess up and be stuck.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Some of the mechanics aren't completely intuitive; I have no idea how to get upgrade or genetics points. The music is quirky, but I actually kind of like it. There might be a bit of a resolution issue, since the screen is cut off at the edges.

elliottd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

this took some time to figure out but it is fun to play around with. I'm not a fan of tool tips or snark but that's just me. nothing indicated you get water by clicking the flower, so one cocoon wiped me out and i got confused. I guess it was lucky that the cocoon didn't end the game when it couldn't take what it needed per second. Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:18pm

I'm having issues with the text boxes. It often just shows a gray box and then I have to fiddle with the scroll/zoom button to make the text appear. Took me a while, but once I figured out how to play it's pretty neat. Is there any more to the game once the flower has grown off screen? (I wanted to see the moon).

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

@silkworm_sweatshop damn, now I know what I forgot O.o
You can actually pan around with WASD.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

That game was more complex than I anticipated. Interesting topic for a clicker game, but I had to start over a couple of times because I painted myself into a corner. Nice game, though!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Nice game :) I didn't realize what to do at all and was super confused at first. Eventually I saw one of the tooltips mentioned something about clicking and then i realized clicking the flower gives resources. Even having some of this info in the description of the game could've helped, although obviously an in-game tutorial would've been better. The game itself is fun as a progression clicking game. I liked it :). The music was a bit annoying so I had to mute it lol but it wasn't ridiculously terrible. The graphics were bad but it was kind of funny. In terms of gameplay it was great. Varying resources, pretty well-balanced. I couldn't play too long but I enjoyed the time I played.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:16am

I'm not quite sure how to progress in the game. I spent up all of my DNA points and I can only get more water and energy. A lot of the text got caught off screen as well.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Nice idea :)
Good audio too good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]