Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SAUROPOD vs THEROPOD

by Tijn - Compo Entry

SAUROPOD vs THEROPOD

====[ UPDATE! Web version now available! ]====

Thanks to rnlf's awesome Motor2d, there is now a web version available of SAUROPOD vs THEROPOD, which means you can play it straight from your browser. Click the "web" link below to play it.

Please note: the web version is experimental. If you encounter any issues, please use one of the other downloads instead.

More info about Motor2d can be found here: https://github.com/rnlf/motor/

P.S. the web version doesn't have the variation in the walking sound that the downloadable version does have. This doesn't have implications for the gameplay however, it is merely an audible detail.

================================


Controls:
-----
- arrow keys to move
- X and C for combat


About:
-----
In SAUROPOD vs THEROPOD you assume the role of a small Sauropod with great ambitions. Watch out though, because a pack of aggressive Theropods are hunting for you! Can you survive long enough to evolve into an epic dinosaur that will stand the test of time?


Features:
-----
* 200+ actual real dinosaur names
* 70+ voice recorded dinosaur sounds (that's me impersonating dinos)
* infinite evolution (they just keep on growing)
* nerve-wracking combat (using just two buttons)
* randomly generated levels
* gameplay spanning millions of years


================================


This is my 3rd entry for Ludum Dare. It is the first time I've made a game using the LÖVE framework (http://love2d.org). It was quite enjoyable to use it. Hopefully as I gain experience, I will be able to produce better games in shorter amounts of time, because I didn't have time this weekend to do all the art I had intended to make, resulting in a pretty bare looking game xD

The soundtrack is available on my Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/martijnwf/sets/ld34-sauropod-vs-theropod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#4Audio4.32
#39Humor3.87
#117Overall3.77
#136Mood3.57
#211Fun3.55
#346Theme3.89
#410Graphics3.22
#521Innovation3.11

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Couldn't launch the Windows version because I was missing love.dll, but after installing love and running the source I had a lot of fun! I loved the Pokemon battles and evolving over time :)

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

Thanks for playing, FuzzyWuzzie! I updated the Windows download to include the DLLs now, I hope that fixes the issue :)

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

Sweet game :)
I developed a strat, where I gathered the mobs behind me, didn't save me from dying to a Condorraptor in Level 6 though. Unfortunately it was difficult to find plants outside of the center regions. But it was fun, that dinosaur got very big in the end!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

Unfortunately, can't play/ windows 7 64x http://rfdshir.net/img/bug2.jpg

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

That's a shame, Rfdshir. I've tried to patch it. Could you try downloading it again to see if it works now?

voxel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Definitely the best evolution simulator I have played this evening. I feel you cheated a little by using actual photographs of the dinosaurs, but otherwise a great educational entry with predictably excellent audio.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Amazing game! The feel, the sound, the combat screen. Everythings superb. Great job.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The music is (again) perfect. It matches the theme of the game and the game matches the theme of the jam! Especially the intro of the battle music really produces that "let's bring it on" feeling. Also the dinosaur sounds, they are hilarious :D

As someone else already pointed out, there is not enough to eat outside the center region (or there should be some kind of world border) and maybe there should be a different way to kill predators. I could imagine luring them into deadly ravines are similar things.

Art style and music fit together nicely, too. Both have a somewhat innocent happiness to them.

I don't think evolution is something that happens instantaneously, but in the age of Pokémon, who could tell the difference?

I like this game!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Audio is top notch. The music is wonderful, of course, but the variety of dinosaur sounds is staggering, and the percussion on the footsteps is perfect.
The game does get bogged down in later levels, in the sense that you've already lost when you're surrounded and can't outmanouever your enemies but playing through to realize you've actually lost takes time. Still love what you've got going on here, though.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Wow there's a lot of content in this. I was caught off guard by the battle screen and that to be a fun addition. I was also caught off guard by the battle prowess of my leaf eater and the chumpiness of all these stupid carnivores. I ended up facing them all head on so I could hunt for leaves in peace rather than running. Great job.

rxi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Wonderful audio all around -- given that most entries tend to favor most things above audio it's refreshing to hear something so polished with such a focus on music and sound design -- the music was perfect for the game: all the songs worked well for their scenarios in addition to working well with each other; switching from one song to another never felt jarring. The little sound effects were wonderful too, and added a lot of character to the thing.

The audio also worked really well with the visuals, combined with the transitions and animation it felt like one of the same entity, rather than two separate parts.

An enjoyable experience with a good sense of humor, even if simple in terms of gameplay.

vrld says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I have spent way too much time on this. Well done!

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Ah the genuine dino noises... no idea how you got the microphone back in time but 100% worth it. A silly little game which I had fun playing.

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Great mood thanks to the music. The dino sounds are hilarious. Good stuff!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

Nice job! I really enjoyed evolving my dinos! Very pokemon like! Also congrats on all the sounds! WORTH IT

Kyace says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Very fun game, the sound and music was great and it all worked well together. Good use of both themes.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

This is cute! I love the voiced sound effects and the jaunty jungle-y music. But this is seriously ambitious. Pokemon-style battles? Wow. But why is evolution so unfair? I keep flattening out into a surfboard more and more with each pass! This game's really cool.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Fantastic

Sort of repetitive gameplay, and easy to accidentally run away from all the plants and have nothing more to eat, but besides that

Great sounds, really great music, nice evolution mechanic with the changed graphics for each stage

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

Great game! I had fun. The sfx were good, as was the music. I'd have liked there to be more depth to the mechanics... for example the size of the foes didn't seem to matter. Keep up the good work!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53am

Really cool game. Love the sound effects and the evolving part. Only downside I found is you could only find food "at spawn"

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Tijn, after the patch it's work. The level of fun was through the roof! And then I played just to listen to new dino sounds ^_^ The only thing that caused the issue, it's a strange movement of herds of enemies. But it's a cool game anyway.

iapc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Fun game :). Awesome sounds !

Verrazano says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

This game is glorious. I liked when the other dinosaurs meowed, I especially loved it when I started meowing. 10/10 ign.

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

I love it :D and half of the time I was trying to create music with my walking sounds and not to mention I was imitating those very natural dino sounds while playing XD

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

The audio of this game is the best I've heard so far this LD (maybe you just cater to my funny sfx taste).

At first I thought that if I meet an evil Theropod I lose, but then when I was really large I saw a small one and critically kicked its arse.

While graphics are modest, the dinosaurs getting longer (instead of bigger) was pretty amusing :)

A very solid entry, well done!

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Best. Sounds. Ever.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I enjoyed playing it. I know the programming bogged you down, so a lot of feedback I could give may be things that you didn't get around to.

Your graphics are pretty simple, and while they may not be a style you would want in the end, I think a few simple things could make this style work for you much better. One thing is the fact that the only things on screen are things you care about. While its true that everything on screen should have a function, not everything has to relate directly to the gameplay. So maybe things like minimalistic patches of grass (pretty easy to make with the simplex noise generator included in LOVE), maybe patches of water, dead dinosaurs, or just various things like that.

Also, I'm not sure about the background color choice for the battle screen. The battle screen could have some sort of background art to it.

This brings us to the biggest issue. I killed dinosaurs, but couldn't eat them. I don't care if I'm not made to eat them, if they taste disgusting, or the fact that my teeth just aren't cut for it. I worked hard to kill them, I want my reward.

On a serious note, maybe some factors could guide your evolution. Like the fact that I tried becoming a carnivore, but couldn't.

pta2002 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Loved it! The music was awesome! :D

g12345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Brilliant in audio department, and any game that is about eating is fun.

I got to level 12 easily, too. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Such majestic creatures ;_____;

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38am

Great job! Very attractive gameplay! But to simple to avoid battles at all.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39am

I love the sfx of this game xD The concept of evolution is very interesting, the music is also good. I really enjoyed to play! This is a very good work!

xslipher says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19am

I like the pokemon-esque battle system and that you made it with LÖVE <3

Good job! :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

Ok, so I'm starting comments before playing. Humor gets auto +1 for the features... brb...
Haha, I played that longer than I thought I would. Solid entry, great voice (?) acting! Loved it.

euske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

I didn't know there's a RPG-like battle scene until I reached level 9, and then quickly pounded by all the surrounding enemies.

Do different dinosaurs have all distinct voices?

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

Amazing game. Really cool combat system and amazing music and audio. I really like the graphics and the game is really fun. I probably played this for a little too long (millions of years).

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20am

It amazes me how much some people get done during these jams. The battle music is so good :D

MikeBoyd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:18pm

â–ºhttps://youtu.be/KnAkZO2efhE

I absolutely loved the music and sound effects in this game, several times I actually laughed out loud at the hilarious dinosaur sounds! The game itself has so much promise, and saying that the submission itself is an amazingly fun game in itself. Check out my video for my playthrough of it.

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Cool stuff. I liked the combat mechanics and the gathering aspect of the game. I'm not sure if my evolution had any consequences on stats (attack / flee skills) but I ended up finding the game a bit easy and repetitive. Unsure if it was because of lack of balance or just because I was getting good at it, lol.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:56pm

haahahha you guys will have a surprise when you play this. A good one .

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Cute little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

amras0000 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:20pm

The audio is spot-on, the voices are very amusing and the music fits the theme perfectly and is really nice to listen to. I spent the first chunk of the game walking in rhythm to the music and very much enjoying the feeling of that.

It's definitely interesting to have a tile-based game in which the player occupies multiple tiles. It wasn't the most intuitive, but once I figured out I eat with my head it made sense.

The combat is painfully repetitive, though. The amount of dodges and light scratches just makes the event drag on, and since there's no way to skip cutscenes or auto-attack, I'm just stuck mashing X until my hand hurts. Since you're aping pokemon, one of the things that makes the grind more bearable in pokemon is that you can take out much weaker enemies with one, two hits max. That balance would have improved this game greatly.

Also, running should really despawn the enemy you're running from, since I ended up immediately getting into combat after running.

After a couple evolutions, I got stuck with no food anywhere in range. I tried exploring but I couldn't outrun the enemies and after not finding any food for about half a dozen battles I just gave up.

Sound and visual design is great, but the core gameplay needs serious balancing.

VDZ says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Great game, my favorite this LD so far. Running around, dodging enemies, eating plants and evolving was fun.

As others have said, balance issues drag the game down after a while. Wonky AI movement behavior causes them to combine into an impenetrable wall of death if you're unlucky, locking you out of the starting area where the plants are. They never attack each other or give up chasing you, and once you get in combat with them it's often impossible to escape - right after running, you get into combat again the very next turn. You're forced to just muscle your way through, which seems to be entirely luck-based. It's also slightly frustrating that combat is purely detrimental; you get no reward for victory other than your continued survival, so strategically it's best to avoid combat at all times. It would be nice if the player was rewarded for strategic combat choices, like attacking weaker animals, if only through something like improved combat capacity in the next evolution.

The music was great and the sounds were fitting and added a lot to the experience. However, I would've loved to see different sounds per dinosaur for attacking and being hit; as it is right now, you repeatedly have the exact sample playing twice in a row every turn, which just sounds weird in addition to not making it clear whether it's the 'attacking' or 'being hit' sound.

Graphics were great but a bit too repetitive. I like the minimalist look, but you can't easily deduce an enemy's (or hell, your own) characteristics by their look, and many different enemies look the exact same (not even color differences).

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:25am

Not incredibly fun, but still enjoyable to play, and the sound effects were funny.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice concept well executed. I liked the dinosaur sounds :DD

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Wow, great music, really fits the game, the gameplay was okay, I missed some different attack styles like in Pokémon, but it plays well without them. Whaa!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

I managed to survive until level 10. The combat is really boring just hammering that attack button until it was over... but it's really cool that every enemy has its own sound.
Also one time I got lost in the infinite nothingness and couldn't find back to my patch of gras in the middle. Enemies had a really aggressive chase pattern and most of the time it was impossible to avoid them.

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:15am

Love the music! And the game just get tenser and tenser, when I've invested literally millions of years in it. That spinoffsaurus nearly did me in, but I survived and lived to see millions of additional years!

Graphics were nice, the fight screen very nice! Awesome work. The battle music is perfect!

freaknarf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Haha i love this kind of sfx :) nice humor and great audio tracks, gameplay is a bit repetitive but the fun is here :)
Good work i was stuck for nearly half an hour in playing this funny game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]