Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slash & Dash

by Fartenko - Jam Entry

This game is about.. survive as long as you can and gain as more score as possible?Hell Yeah! Totaly!

So you are warior? ranger? um.. whoever you imagine. Just a random guy with a sword. Well you can [S]lash with the sword. Cool am I right :D? But also you can [D]ash that gives you some mobility and possibility to dodge some attacks.

So.. yea!

What are you waiting for? Go and check this out ;)

-------------------------
Controls:
S - Slash
D - Dash

Tools Used:
Engine - Unity3D
Art - Aseprite
Sfx - Bfrx, Audacity

Have fun ;D

P.S.
This is my first entry, but not the first time at Ludum Dare, past 2 projects were failure, I couldn't make projects till deadline so.. yeah :\
Also this should've been compo entry, but I had to go to university blah blah blah no one cares ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#58Fun(Jam)3.92
#85Mood(Jam)3.92
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21

Comments

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This game has a nice feel to it and great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the pixel art and animations.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Excellent. 5 audio and mood stars for sure.

Also just slightly below your screenshot high scores on first try 21000.

xodene says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Fantastic atmosphere and animation. The sound effects are really good as well, 5/5 mood for me.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Brilliant. Great mechanics, feel and everything in a small screen and with only 2 buttons. Great job.

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Well done ! Great mood and nice graphics.

im-oab says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

nice. I like it. :)

sydan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I liked this, the animation was great! Would have like the slash bar to refill ever so slightly though as I found moments were I could do neither abilities so I just took damage.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

a brutal and fun game!, reminds of the manga berserk dont know why haha, the graphics are very cool and the mechanics are very intelligent and solid, well done!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I like a lot your pixel art. Pretty good animations. And the mechanics are good too.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice game!

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

Nice mood and animations, maybe it can be improver with resolution consistency to every graphic fit in the same resolution. Very fun anyway!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Pretty fun, great art and sound! Oh but that lightening... grrr. The game ends too soon, it could use some difficulty ramping. Just managing your health is hard enough without the wall of death and lightening coming at you. I would prefer three stages: I. just health, II. plus wall, III plus lightening. Then if you got killed by lightening you'd still feel like you earned a good death! Solid game, though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fun game!

I feel like the slash and dash ability recharge is a bit slow. May be dashing should recharge slash ability a little bit and vice versa.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:35am

Nice one. This is up in the running for best polish & feel of the controls of anything I've played yet.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Good job!

uthamon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Great atmosphere, these lightings are terrifying. :) Controlling is fun - slashing 'n' dashing. Great job.

Fartenko says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Thank you everyone for playing, voting and giving feedback guys :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]