Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Scat Attack

by patvanmackelberg - Jam Entry

The name suggests exactly what this game is about. You are but a turd, and your mission is to become as big as humanly possible and escape the human containing you. As you escape many enzymes will try to break you down and make you smaller. By killing them you can gather food and become enormous.

So far the game can be played up to four players that work towards the same goal, yet compete to become the biggest. There are 3 enemies and a boss.

The wonderful people who made this game are:

Patrick VanMackelberg- Programmer
Drew Brouillette- Artist & Animator
Devin Deroches – Music & Sound
Jordan Maurice – Artist & Level Designer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#287Humor(Jam)3.08
#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#541Audio(Jam)2.95
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#875Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Well, you did a lot of work about it, right? Suprisingly well animated and drawn for a game which involves turd and such.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Two things to say:
Funny!
EEEEWWWW.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Really good! A very solid tur... I mean, game! lol
Gameplay was quite fun and I liked the feeling of getting more powerful that I got as I grew bigger and bigger. The scat was much softer than I was expecting... not that I'd mind if it weren't, maybe I'd like it even more if implemented in a humorous way, further exploring your curious story hehe.

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Well, not so subtle humour, but surprisingly interesting gameplay ;)

Strike says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Good idea to made it up to 4 players in co-op !

mf1214 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:22am

Great game! I like the concept and humor.

MercuryXGames says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:58am

nice game!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:10am

Pretty fun! Gameplay is good though it seems like it's hard to avoid damage from the ranged enemies sometimes. One weird thing is that my controller controlled the cursor on the main menu rather than the mouse which threw me off. Perhaps if you polished this one a bit it could be even more solid :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]