Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Tie Game

by Dejvo - Jam Entry

The Theme was a tie? Then I will make a game all about Tie.
You control with left and right arrow keys *two button controls check*
You grow and shrink depending on what you hit *growing check**rhyme check* (it's a rhyme shut up)
right i fixed up some bugs that nobody cared about. yaay :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Humor(Jam)3.62
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#631Graphics(Jam)3.22
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#679Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

This was pretty fun! Bonus points for the clever approach to the theme and the ragtime jams.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

Very nice ! Well done !

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30am

Simple but fun. Won my first attempt :)

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:08pm

aha the original theme sells it all! 5*theme!
awesome job

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Very well themed game! Simple fun. The liquid could've been a little more liquid-y. Well done!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:14pm

A fun game, as soon as this came to mind. Very interesting and fun gameplay, and good music. Good job.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Nice use of the theme in the game! The game itself is fun but gets repetitive after a while thought.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:09am

Liked the music, gameplay is too repetitive though

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Cute!

The tie was a little tricky to control, and sometimes the wine seems unavoidable... but it was still fun! It's a shame it's so short, I would've liked some more levels, maybe this tie has a dream to become the president's tie and has to hop from person to person, or something like that. :D

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great approach to the theme. Nice idea on simulating tie growth by scaling down environment. Tie physics were a bit wonky, tie itself was too rigid, it would more funny if it was flapping around. Music track could be longer, as it is now looping moment was too noticeable.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

funny game! :)

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Minimalistic, fun, growing and two-buttons involved. At first, I didn't know whether I should use the tie to hit the wine to avoid the person getting dirty. Thanks for creating this.

Cheers from Brno! :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Great way to "tie" in both themes... I'll see myself out.
But really, this is a nice game well executed.

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:18am

A fun triple theme whammy! The 'get bowties' part is something I ignored... just avoiding the ketchup was paramount!

squigglez says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:13am

fun at first but got a bit boring once i figured out i could hold left forever. over all good. nice music and graphics. i really liked the reflecting of wine after "cutting" it

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:58pm

nice game

Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Fun interpretation of the theme, and a good fun idea for a game. It could use a lot of tweaking of the gameplay though.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:28am

Fits the theme perfectly, and it's a rather funny interpretation of it ^^ Physics were a bit odd... but it felt kind of intentional, and added a bit of awkward difficulty to it. Not sure if I particularly enjoyed that aspect, but definitely got used to it and overall the game was good (:

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:23am

Never played a tie in any game before this one. The game is very fun, one of the best I played until now. I can just notice two problems :
- Sometime the jet of vine hit the base of the tie letting you with no escape options.
- The bonus dont add a lot to the game. I usually spend my time avoiding vine and randomly catch bonus. I think that winnning the game over time would not change much things.

Jace239 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/01/02/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-5/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]