Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Grower

by lanza - Compo Entry

Run around the planet to hit spaceships with bombs. When they fall to the planet, it will grow. Make it as big as you can before the atmosphere disappears, or try to get the hit spaceships orbiting the planet so their smoke regenerates the atmosphere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Theme4.47
#241Graphics3.58
#285Fun3.42
#297Innovation3.44
#379Humor2.59
#412Overall3.32
#490Mood2.94
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:39pm

scored 10 size and 20 ships downed
good fun little game, controls seem inverted to me but there is a guy running on the planet so maybe that is why. Aiming seems to be impossible and feels like I dont have control. Lots of shots seem to just smash back into the planet so that sucks.

Why is index.php a PHP file when it doesn't use any php code? (Might have stripped it out before giving source) its fine just weird to see.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Nice game. However, controls are inverted and it's frustrating... :/ But i like the concept!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Fun game, but it was quite confusing as the controls were inverted like hpearson2 said, but that was what made it frustrating and therefore fun! :P Good job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

awesome! very entertaining and creative, one of my favourites so far, well done

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice little game. Felt like i had too little control, though. Most of the time i was just spinning around hoping to hit something (not that i didn't feel good when i finally did!).

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Fun, but hard! I wish the cannons at least fired on regular intervals so I could get a rhythm going, but the randomness makes it hard to aim. Really like that smoke regens the atmosphere and like that when ships crash you get more firepower. Looks great, too!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

nice little game but the random shooting maked it a bit unpredictable

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Quite nice. Hitting spaceships (especially the first ones) feels a bit too random. But overall a nice little game. :)

thomz12 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very original game, loved it!

Akhera says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Fun for a while. I felt that hitting ships was mostly up to chance.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]