Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Just a fatty cat

by logon13 - Jam Entry

A game where you live the life of a fat cat trying to eat everything in the world

Controls:

A or D for left and right OR

Left arrow and right arrow for left and right

Left mouse button and right mouse button for left and right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#398Humor(Jam)2.85
#549Audio(Jam)2.93
#853Mood(Jam)2.68
#865Graphics(Jam)2.67
#935Fun(Jam)2.58
#969Overall(Jam)2.73
#981Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

cute cat = good game

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

I like the game, but a background would be nice. Also, flipping when you would turn upside down feels very strange

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

wait for the dogs :)!

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

Keep it up!
I like the graphic styles.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

I don´t get the (two button) contolls :) I´m just turning, not moving. But the Assets are nice!

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

I don't like the graphics

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

I enjoyed it. I enjoyed eating all the milk, and then the dogs. And then I was the supreme cat being.

forer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39am

I liked the intuitiveness of "Cat wants milk" and "cat avoid dog" but it took me a while to realize "Cat can beat up dogs smaller than it" and thought it was just "Cat avoid all dogs"

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

Teehee, this was cute and I really liked the art :) Good job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34am

Flipping a sprite feels pretty awkward right now.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38am

It feels like horror. Good job!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Some weird issues with moving forward sometimes but overall I like the movement, feels very unique. The cardboard cutout art style is really nice too.

utoxin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59am

First, thanks for rating my game. I enjoyed yours as well, and it was better implemented than many others I've tried that used the same sort of movement mechanic. Good job!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02am

The graphics of this game are absolutely adorable! The music also helps set a really nice chill mood. The controls really helped add to the difficulty of this game. I think it would be really good to perhaps add in a katamari damaci style thing where once you get big enough, you start eating the trees, and so on, changing the visual style as you go on. It was a bit unintuitive to do so with the dogs, perhaps they should change sprites when you can eat them? Nice, chill game.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24am

Felt a bit like Agar.io but with cats and dogs and keyboard controls. Well done.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This cat started to eat dogs... it must have been really, really hungry. The music was a solid 5/7.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19am

Nice use of hand-drawn graphics. I liked the Mixed Media/Papercraft kind of feel here! Also, interesting control scheme; it took a second to get my head around steering, but made for a pretty intuitive setup in time.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Cat Eating Everything Simulator 2015! Love the concept and use of the theme, nice job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Strange aesthetic, but fantastic mood :)
A good entry. Well done ++

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The controls remind me of the Star Wars Podracing arcade game. Good idea to use this in this theme!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Not bad. The cutout style is interesting. Gameplay works ok, though I feel like pressing both arrows to go forwards felt a little odd. Maybe constant movement might have been better. Good stuff overall though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]