Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BEAR

by graceavery - Compo Entry

BEAR is a shoot em' up about being a bear.
Shoot mooses (meese?). Avoid birds. Collect delicious garbage. Get your cub back.

There are only 2 buttons - Run and Gun. (Space bar and M Key)

Created in gamemaker , photoshop , audacity , and MS paint.

Go get bearvenge.

Known bugs/ Concerns:

- Moose- they CAN be killed, but due to a funky code thing you need to give
them a tiny amount of time where they aren't being shot to change states. If you fire continuously they will get stuck in a state and be invincible. They only really take 3 hits, just pause between them.

- Spiders - just run past them really quickly, they can all be avoided but they cannot be killed.

- MAC/WEB/ETC port: I am working on it and might post a post-ludum dare mac port at a later date.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#17Humor4.00
#98Mood3.71
#127Graphics3.90
#182Audio3.35
#300Overall3.47
#311Fun3.38
#404Theme3.82
#741Innovation2.68

Comments

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very lovely pixel art! The level was gorgeous! Extra points for bear puns; would bear to play again, honey.

socapex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ Go bears! ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

amoosing

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Excellent. My favorite thing about this is that after endless crappy [read: amazing] bear-puns, the berry pickup is called 'BERRIES' and not 'BEAR-IES.'

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

Slow movement. But liked the graphics and liked the general idea!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

780965
The moose seem a bit busted but fun game none the less. Cute graphics and a neat mechanic. Nice :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

This game is hysterical xD I absolutely love it. I was laughing so hard at the beginning. Really nice work!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43am

This game looks so adorable. Any way we can get a web or Mac port? I want to play.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Thanks for the comments and feedback, everybody!
I will attempt a Mac port, I think my version
of GM won't port to anything but .exe, but I'll definitely
look into it! 'v'

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

@siege I think the slow movement is just so you have time to get your bearings.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18am

tha game is AMOOSING! that puns stop it! You will make me puma pants!
Loved the art <3

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22am

Great art, silly dancing enemies, blood explosions and an emBEARassing amount of puns. Well done.

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

I like the cutesy art style, the contrast with the blood/particle explosions made me laugh out loud when I killed the first bunny. And definitely bonus points for the awful bear puns.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53am

I'm curious as to why the bear is killing everything with leaves. I particularly like the art.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01am

I liked ,the game on only go forward concept its also really satisfying killing stuff with the explosive blood animation, I also like the title screen. Why Photoshop and MS Paint tho?

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17am

Haha this game has a lot of good humor. Well done!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Great idea !

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Lovely pixel art, fun concept, I'm pretty sure it's exactly how bears hunt.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Had some trouble with some of the enemies, it's decent fun! The art is cute and the music doesn't get grating.

ninos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Really loved the art, you did an amazing job ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

Pro:
+ Some sprites (specially the bear) are really nice
+ Art in general was cute
+ Nice idea
+ BEAR
Con:
- The craziness of the art was a bit confusing
- The lack of control made some enemies impossible to hit, and one bat was unreachable
Obs:
o So much blood!
o The moose seemed invincible

Great job!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

such a cute game!

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Aww very cute :)

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Oops, I hit the submit button by accident ;_;
Continuation of above comment: very simple game, but it has charm :) Loved all the puns and the cute bear hug in the end was really heart warming \('o')/

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:41am

Not bad, but could be less violent!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]