Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Evadanoid

by jomomomo - Jam Entry

You are a space ship, well, as much of a space ship as you were in arkanoid. In this spaceship, you want to evade the red dots and grab the blue dots. Red dots kill you, blue dots make your ship grow in size.

Use your TWO buttons, right arrow and left arrow to move your ship.

Catch the blue dots to GROW your green ship and gain the highest score possible.





Downloads and Links


Ratings

#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#688Audio(Jam)2.29
#892Overall(Jam)2.87
#953Mood(Jam)2.39
#993Graphics(Jam)2.09
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

A pretty decent game, can definitely be improved on!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great use of theme, very simple and very fun. Got harder as my player grew :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very simple, but works like a charm. I could imagine that people could play this for hours to get a high score. Not the most innovative game, but quite fun. The game over sound is quite loud though.

rplnt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I like this idea. I would like it for the pad to be slightly slower (more precise), and also see the score during the game (yellow on white doesn't work). But it's a fun little game, also something I haven't seen before.

By the way, had around 3700 points on my third try and the framerate got really low slightly before that.

SwitchTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05am

It's cool

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Ouch, hurt my ears when the death sound came on. Good go.

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44pm

The first time the death sound came I really jumped...
Nice game... I found the debug mode btw XD

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Fun concept, could be really fun with a few different types of things to collect with more variety of mechanics. Really good combination of the themes too.

rujo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:53pm

this game is good! really addicting gameplay and the chain effect of hitting a blue thing is very satisfying in some way :)
should be improved in graphics and other features it would be a very nice little game

gallerdude says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I like the fracturing feature, it's very cool.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Solid entry, at first it totally surprised me how it works, both themes are used exceptionally well.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Superfun game, got to 6911 points. Great basis to build on. Btw. is that some kind of debug mode when I press down? ;)

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:30pm

I like it.

kepons says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Simple but interesting. The movement felt a bit too fast.

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Cool little concept with the particles setting of a chain reation. The audio gets the job done too! Would be cool to see it with more time.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:33pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It was a fun, little agar.io-like game with this nice restriction with the two buttons and the arkanoid style ratchets were great help to easily go over 10 thousand points. After a while there was a lot of problem with the wide red lines that was nearly unavoidable. Also I experienced lagginess while controlled the "hero".

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Very nice for the time you had! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]