Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimate Panda

by bogely - Jam Entry

Fight through waves of dangerous enemies by unleashing powerful combos and smashes. Each combo begins with a punch, and you begin targeting aerial enemies on the 3rd keypress in rapid succession. The enemies get faster as time goes on; see how many you can defeat in a row!

All art is done by me (@ebogely), with the exception of the title screen font, and all the progamming is done by Nicolai (@nicolaigd). Made in GM:Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#36Fun(Jam)4.04
#37Graphics(Jam)4.59
#90Overall(Jam)3.89
#116Theme(Jam)4.16
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#390Mood(Jam)3.36

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51am

Looks amazing! Good job guys!

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Can't score you for audio because I didn't hear any sound. This is very similar to the game I submitted except yours has a little more variety and character animations. Neato :)

bogely says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

@hexagore - I removed the audio category just now, didn't notice it before. Thanks!

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

Fun, hard to remember/execute some of the combos which is good for raising the skill ceiling in button-constrained design ;)

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43am

A lot of fun, just needed SFX and music and it would be a five star submission. Great job!

socapex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

ʕ ·ᴥ·ʔ Go bears! ʕ ·ᴥ·ʔ

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51am

awsome! great job

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

Cute little brawler, I like it. Art is nice as well. Could really use a bit of sound though. I'd also consider putting more thought into game rhythm like in One Finger Death Punch.

Nicolaigd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

@Phoenix849 - Thank you! Those are the two exact things that we would have done given a few more hours. We are going to develop the game further post-comp.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I think I did not use the correct combination for the attack in the air, but the animations are pretty awesome! Just looking at the game is fun.. ^_^

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome game! The graphics and animations are really nice, and the gameplay mechanics add a nice touch to the endless two-button genre. Loving your work - I can't wait to see your next project!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Really nice game, it's simple to understand, but hard to master. Also the art and visual effects are really good.
Excellent job! :D

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:22am

Art is great. Gameplay is fun. Very good game =D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

One of the most addicting LD games I've played yet! It was like One Finger Death punch with aerial attacks - so I think you've got something on them. Graphics were great - especially the panda animations!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43am

Great gamefeel and elegant controls. I enjoy this type of game and art, so I felt like I was home when I played this one.

Great stuff!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:09pm

This is well done. I love the nice art, and it's a fun little game. Good job with the two button controls. Would love some Audio, but it's a great start! :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Addictive little gem! Love the art, especially those FX - swooshes + cool camera shakes. In the end I couldn't beat 58 points.. but tried.. and tried.. and tried.. :D
Thanks!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:28am

Amazing pixel art. It it so smooth and the details in the animation are gorgeous. Loved the background. Wish there was sound to accompany the awesome visuals.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:46am

Amazing animations! I really enjoyed it! The pixel art was awesome.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:16am

Simple and a nice concept, like a beat-em-up where the movement is done for you. Nice! Audio would be nice, though.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Amazing art ! Well done. And really addictive game.

cxen says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:47pm

easy to unterstand and nice art <3

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

damn fine game!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:13am

Incredibly fun. This is definitely one of my favorite games of this LD. Every kill is satisfying and your mistakes are always your fault, not the games fault.

Was able to get up to 79 points, but I didn't really want to stop. I get the feeling I'm going to be playing this game more in the future.

bogely says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:35am

@LukeZaz, glad you liked it! Actually, as it stands there are some situations that are almost impossible to get out of, but we are working on fixing it for future versions of the game.

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Simple yet fun. Great job guys!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:00pm

One of my favourites so far. Liked the way you used the theme but still kept it interesting by adding the combo element. Really worked well. Art was also nicely done, great job.

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Nice graphics, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]