Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Garbage Can you escape?

by Weloxux - Jam Entry

Join super villain Fernando Fertilizer, an evil villain with the power to grow plants, in his dangerous quest to escape his imprisonment!

Key features:
* Decide the ultimate fate of Fernando Fertilizer, and eventually, THE WORLD!
* Bob your head to quality handmade chiptune!
* Delight your eyes with amazing spritework (and some pretty shitty sprites too, but I won't mention that)
* Wonder why there are only four sound effects!
* Grow plants!
* Sort garbage!
* Keep track of your high score, and brag to your friends/family/dog/desk!
* Pick between normal, hard, and DEATH WISH difficulty!
* Get annoyed by this long description!
* Be amazed at the easter egg!

Team:
* Marnix "Weloxux" Massar: Programming, spriting, composing, sound effects.
* Daniel van Paassen: Programming, additional spriting, sound effects, professional screenshotting.

Tools and tech:
Lua, Love2D, GIMP, Vim, Geany, Audacity, Milkytracker, Coffee, Bfxr, Tox, Krita, Wacom Bamboo Pen and Touch.

How to run:
* Linux: Install Love2D via a package manager of your choice, and run "love gcye.love"
* OS/X: Unzip the file, run gcye.app.
* Windows (64 and 32 bit): Unzip the file, and run gcye.exe from a folder with the included .dll's.

How to play:
Make things go left or right with your left and right keys. Try to throw garbage in the incinerator and water on your plant. That's all, really.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#197Humor(Jam)3.33
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#725Mood(Jam)2.96
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#853Graphics(Jam)2.70
#877Innovation(Jam)2.56
#901Overall(Jam)2.85

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I like the concept. Great job. Is there a way to actually finish the game? Or is it purely a high score based game?

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Wow, this game is 250MB? It looks like you made the love file with the .git folder included.

Regardless, I have the same question; can you finish the game? Nice job!

Weloxux says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

We probably should've mentioned, but yes, there is indeed no end. You're stuck here forever!

As for the .git file, seems like I messed up indeed. Uploading a new version as I'm typing this. Thanks for the heads up!

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Simple idea, but with a lot of funny stuff thrown in. Gets challenging, as tempo increases. Area on sides of conveyor is a bit empty, could use some more (perhaps humorous?) objects to liven up an environment.

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I hate the audio in the Main Menu but the rest is great.

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I like this game! It feels very Ludum Darish! :-) Humorous, retro graphics, 8bit music, simple gameplay. Actually this is one of the best game I've seen this jam, it feels really good. :-)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Pleasant 2 button game sticks, picking up points. good job.

tompudding says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I like the main idea but if you could develop it by adding movement and different levels you could make it more interesting.

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:59pm

It is a long and artistic game. Appreciated it

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Loved the background! Great entry!

Marthog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I like the typical ludum dare style in it.

Unfortunately it did not register all keypresses (Linux build), but it looks like it would be a lot of fun.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Mac build does not work for me:

LSOpenURLsWithRole() failed with error -10810 for the file /Users/kjhoulihan/Downloads/gcye.app.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Hard controls, in my opinion. But I enjoyed the idea, of the gameplay and the story.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:52pm

On the simple side, for sure. I counted about 20 waters, but I wasn't sure if the game had an ending to it or not. The music was catchy though!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Very simple game, I liked. Great job!

nosfer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:50pm

it's sometimes hard to tell when to press button but beside that quite fun

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Fun game, love the music especially. The only criticism I have is that there is no visual feedback of the plant growing after the first few doses of water, but maybe that can't be helped.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]