Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dizzy Dazzle

by Tselmek - Jam Entry

Little warning, if you're a bit affected by motion sickness, playing this game might not be the best idea.

Well, this is my third Ludum Dare experience and I'm quite happy of the ride so far. This time I got the awesome Ted Wennerström to work on the audio and it was a blast to work with him (seriously, go check out his stuff). I worked quite a good chunk of my weekend on it and passed on the test revisions, so have my failed test on your mind while playing :P I had fun making this little game so I hope you do as well.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the theme we ended up using is Two button controls, if that wasn't obvious already.

### Description ###

Test your reflex in this groovy arcade mixmash of a game. Be the fastest and the most accurate among your friends to show them who's the coolest kid of the playground.

### Controls ###

LT and RT on controller, QD or AD or even Left and Right arrows on keyboard.

### Credits ###

Graphics and Programming by Tselmek (@tselmek)

Audio by Ted Wennerström (@TedWennerstrm)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#13Audio(Jam)4.36
#248Fun(Jam)3.51
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#536Humor(Jam)2.62
#555Innovation(Jam)3.09

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Looks brilliant! Great work!


Also, thanks for gamepad support!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Cool little game, requires some brainpower for the rotating ones. There is a glaring flaw though and that is that there is no punishment for pressing the wrong button. So technically you could just mash all buttons constantly and never lose (if you are a boring person).

VDZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I fully agree with what silkworm_sweatshop said. I am a boring person, and I immediately noticed that just mashing the buttons is a far superior strategy to playing the game as intended; it takes much less time to hit both buttons once than it takes to determine which button to press next and pressing that button. I dislike it when a game doesn't properly enforce its rules, because where do you draw the line between playing seriously and cheating? I could focus more on speed and less on accuracy, but would that be cheating? It could be a valid strategy if you were punished for inaccuracy, depending on how harsh the punishment is.

Trying to play as intended (avoiding pressing the wrong buttons) reveals some design flaws which make the experience rather unfun. The arrows look too much alike, making it hard to distinguish between left arrows and right arrows. (DDR has each arrow in its own lane to distinguish them, for example. It also has different outline and fill colors on the arrows to make them easier to distinguish.) The initial game speed feels too high for just starting the game. But worst of all, a single miss means instant game over. This is okay in button-mashing mode since it's the result of slowly losing ground, but when playing carefully a single moment of carelessness makes you lose the entire session. Not fun at all.

The style, however, is awesome. The graphics give it a lot of style, and the audio fits perfectly.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Looks good. Sorry I cheated. xD

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I liked it! this is a great rhythm game :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18am

I think this game has a clean and clever design, both graphically and gameplay-wise.

I enjoyed playing through it as I enjoy rhythm and skill-based games. The presentation is great, although I do believe that a couple of more details here and there, as well as some tweaking on the color palette would make this game even better. That said, it's already great as it is.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

It's fun!! I can imagine it would be an amazing mobile app with some extra polish (score, multipliers, and leaderboards would be super cool!). Good luck :D

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44am

Love the effects. The particles when you hit the button were very nice. Can never have too many particles. Beatiful art style, love the screen wobble, kinda gives a cool trippy effect.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43am

Like the music and visuals.

It's impossible to remember what color is clockwise/counterclockwise. Usually indicators should have some basis in human intuition. Green and clockwise is a complete non-sequitur.

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

One hit and its over feels a little harsh.
Quite like the music

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Great game!

You gotta do something against the button mashing. I was just pressing left and right non-stop without even looking at the screen. May be if the player presses the wrong button it resets the current pattern. This will make the player more careful while playing.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:57am

One of the best rhythm like game on Ludum Dare. Great music and a lot of fun to hammer out the left right arrows. Challenging until I realized you could mash the keys without penalty. Other than that, a very solid game!

scorched says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Gorgeous!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:50am

WHOA! This is great! Challenging for both the brain and hands too! Nice work on the gameplay and the soundtrack, it's pretty awesome work!

The mashing button-strategy I saw in comments I tried, and it kind of takes some of the fun, but gotta understand that the time's pretty limited, so it's ok. :)

Also, nice use of the theme! :D

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:11am

Was insanely difficult to begin with, as the different colored arrows threw me off fast. As I kept playing, it got easier, but having multiple different kinds of rotated arrows really hurt my scores. I want to note that this is without mashing keys to win, though I will admit I panicked a few times and might've done it a little then.

Oh, and wonderful music. Was great to listen to!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I like the idea of the game. It can be pretty difficult to match up the correct combination of arrows before they reach the bottom of the screen. I just feel like there could be a better way to add a health bar into the gameplay rather than an all or nothing system.

Like if you started slow but each time you got an error things would speed up would incentivize accuracy over just button mashing and an accuracy score at the end.

But I do like the connection to the older Dance Dance revolution games I got when I played. So nice job. - It also got featured in one of my Ludum Dare showcase videos.

https://youtu.be/yor7ptx0Sr8

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Looks great, good tutorial, great music and an interesting game. Sadly, I'm very bad at rhythm games (/games where you press certain buttons according to symbols) so I didn't get very far. Still, a good game! Also, the menus were weird. In a positive way. Interesting is the word, I guess.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:11pm

One of the most awesome games this time!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Awesome musics and visuals. Pretty fun! One thing I recommend you should do though: If the player presses the wrong arrow key, there should be some sort of visual indicator and it shouldn't let me press another key right away. I managed to just keep pressing the left and right arrow keys and I kept advancing. Other than that, cool game with awesome music! Well done! Rate more games so people can see this one! c:

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:03am

Had a lot of fun trying to improve on this one. Great mechanic. Very polished game overall.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Oh man, this game is so awesooome. Really great, well done ! ^^

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Fantastic job, really quite interesting game mechanic for using only two buttons. It definitely gets challenging quickly as soon as the colored arrows show up! The visual style and audio were just excellent, so congrats on that. My only suggestion would be some way to tone down the pulsing and rotating of the screen -- even if it was just a little less intense. I really liked the effect at first, but it does start to wear a bit after a while of playing.

Overall really awesome job!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:19pm

nice entry and very cool visual style!

VitasaMode says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Great entry. Professionally executed and loved the overall mood as well as replay value!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Great sense of style in this game. The rotated arrows were a tricky twist on the formula, but unfortunately it seems like you can mash the buttons to win. The penalty for missing needs to be much harsher I think.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:42am

Really nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]