Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Up And Down

by Jajo - Compo Entry

Well, not as happy as I would have liked to have been, but I understand where I went wrong. I came in with an idea to make a voxel game in lwjgl with Java. This isn't outside of my skill range and I'm sure I could have done it if I was prepared. I did not expect a theme tie, and I didn't expect either of the themes. I ended up swapping to HTML5 halfway through, which was both a good and bad idea. Someone on the IRC showed me a beautiful GIF of someone jumping off a moving train onto the station, then falling over. Now I know what he means.

Well, Ludum Dare is a learning experience. Over this weekend, I learned plenty about both languages/libraries that I used. I learned a whole lot about OpenGL display lists. I also made a "playable" game in HTML5. The voxel engine I made was surprisingly decent, but Ludum Dare means to give a game, not an engine. I will update this post later and give the source of my voxel engine, if anyone is curious.

In conclusion, I've no one to blame but myself, yet I have everyone to thank. Thank you for such a wonderful roller-coaster. I'll see you in the judging, best of luck :)

Controls:
arrow keys to move.

PS: the embed URL may be difficult due to the arrow keys, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#632Audio2.20
#795Innovation2.56
#818Theme3.22
#822Fun2.59
#877Overall2.67
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18am

I'll second that the LD is a learning experience. My introduction to OOP consisted of learning the hard way that you shouldn't create hundreds of new instances of java.util.Random every update through a less-than-satisfactory Ludum Dare entry. You just gotta dust yourself off and get ready to dig in for the next jam. Congrats on meeting the deadline with a functioning submission, and props for not being part of the group that bailed after the first failure. See you in LD35.

Jajo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33pm

@Os_Reboot cheers mate, best of luck to you.

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

At least you ended up with something, and hopefully next time you will be able to do more

Funske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02am

Good game, there where no glitchs. Basic mechanics could be improved upon, but overall it was good an controlled well. Most issues I had with the game were common, so don't feel bad about it at all. It's still impressive that you could make a game within the time limit, so great job.

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

agar.io with cubes :P

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

maybe make the amp bigger and moveable, but good first atempt. Good for you for not quiting! could be a bit better when it comes to getting really big and not being able to get any bigger, and having a win state. Also, about the voxel engine, this is 2d, right? or am i missing something?

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

This is a simple and nice game to play when bored. It hasn't got that much gameplay but it's still pretty ok

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Well, you couldn't finish it but props to you for having made an engine! This little demo could easily become a good game :)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Ludum Dare is for that! Best experiences in fast programming and the world of videogames. It was a nice entry man. Good job :-)

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Glad to hear you were able to learn a lot during this compo, it's one of the main reasons I love it as well. Too bad you couldn't finish the game, but at least now you have a much better shot at it next time.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Plays pretty well, the collision is precise. Gameplay reminds me of the basis of Bit.Trip Void. Will say that the random placement can make getting some pixels impossible without getting damaged, especially when they overlap (try checking if the random position you place stuff overlaps, and if they do set it to another random position).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]