Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

What the PUCK?

by sbot1101 - Compo Entry

A 1v1, 2 button game about pucks knocking bigger pucks off of a big puck-shaped arena... whilst eating little puck-like things to grow bigger so they can push the big puck easier.
What the puck?

Tools:
Unity2D
Inkscape
sfxr

Too many christmas parties/picnics/pucks this weekend so only got a few hours to work on a game. So I kept it as simple as I could.

Thanks for playing. Feedback appreciated.

Merry Starwarsmas!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Fun3.65
#238Overall3.56
#254Innovation3.53
#294Audio3.06
#404Theme3.82
#437Graphics3.18
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

This is awesome! Super fun. I'm going to play it with a coworker tomorrow over lunch.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:01am

How much time do you need to make a post-compo version with a little IA ? ;) This game is awesome, simple but effective, and it must be fun to play with pals !

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:53am

I got two players for this one, but the other one was my girlfriend who didnt really seem into it (games arent her thing) so I'm gonna use my imagination in a positive way as much as I can when rating this one. I imagine it'd be also of fun with a bigger rink and maybe up to 6 players-- this way once one guy got big the other 3-5 could team up. The controls are very solid and intuitive also. Nice work!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:32am

Very fun, I like the pickups mechanic, they improve the game pacing.

Shide says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:15am

Very simple entry indeed, and that's for the best - idea is very solid and the game is fun to play, or at least seems like it, since I had no one to play with. Looks cool though, i'm thrilled to play it later with friends!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

Nice simple, polished game. Great job.

Eingya says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:36am

Cute little game

Actually tried it alone and tbh it was quite fun trying to play both sides, so that might be an idea for you to expand it or something :p

ramoncb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Simple but super fun. Keep working on it! Seems to be a good game for mobile ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]