Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow with the Flow

by jww608 - Jam Entry

Grow with the Flow

Use the up and down keys to grow and shrink a circle to hit white bars and avoid black bars. The bars adjust themselves based on the music that you choose. This one stretched me technically but it was a fun experience to make it.

Most of the music is by the illustrious Kevin Macleod.

Known unintended "features":
-Some white bars are too wide to hit
-Doesn't work in Chrome - the WebGL build didn't work for some reason (too late for me to dig into now)
-Lack of custom user loaded song - I tried but it was beyond my ability and the time constraints

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#522Theme(Jam)3.67
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#757Mood(Jam)2.90
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

It is kinda innovative and nice. I wished the sounds of hitting white obstacles fit the music somehow. :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The music is kinda pointless, seeing as the bars don't really follow the beat nor the tune. And the controls are a bit buggy at times. Still, good effort.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12pm

As mentioned by nonetheless, the noise of hitting black / not hitting white (e.g: of failing ;) ) are annoying over the music. You could have tried dimming the music volume to indicate a failure maybe ?

I did try to do some MIR a while back, I would be curious to know what algorithm you ended up using ?

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice idea, but the sound has too little impact on the game.
Probably, you could improve it a bit and make it more challenging and entertaining (like moving the ball).

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game! Cool aesthetics, and the music was also ok. The controls were sometimes a tad buggy but were ok overall. The blipping sound fitted the looks of the game. Kudos for including so many songs and the cool menu structure :)

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The music is not on sync with the bars, which kind of defeats the purpose of having a rhythm game :( Also the shrinking and growing feels a bit ... stiff. With some work, it would be nice!

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

The menu system presents your game nicely. :P The volume slider and 'Test' button was blissful.

I didn't feel that the playing field complemented the music. Maybe me version of the game has errors?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Very innovative. The only issue not mentioned in your "features" list was the sounds were a bit jarring because they didn't fit with the music. It works for when you hit the black bars (that SHOULD be jarring, as you made a mistake), but not so much for the white bars. I'd say either make sure it matches up (which is very tough, I know) or get rid of the sound when you hit a white bar.

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Good idea! Too bad the music doesn't influence the patterns of the bars.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]