Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

3034 factory

by dodormeur - Compo Entry

Hello everyone,

For my first ludum dare, here's 3034 factory.


On a futuristic world, your job is to shutdown factories, but there's a problem; to do so, you must press 8 times the two buttons (it's the two button control security system), and danger will increase in the factory every time you press a button.
So this is an evaluative platformer; each one of the 10 levels will be more and more difficult as you get close to the end...

There's also a story, between Denis and Ludo, his personal assistant on his smartphone. You can skip dialogue (to focus on the action), or skip the levels (to focus on the dialogue). But if you do that, you'll still have to complete 1/8 of each levels (which is really really easy, don't worry).

Controls ;
-left and right arrow to move,
-up or space to jump
-enter to validate


PS : there is no pause inside a level, to get back to the main menu, just refresh the page. (but you'll lose your advancement inside a level)

PS2 : The game is 1000*600, so maybe the embed iframe will not work smoothly. If so, use the web link.

PS3 : hadn't the time to animate the character. So it's normal if he looks a bit static :p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#297Innovation3.44
#320Fun3.37
#336Humor2.68
#559Overall3.14
#571Mood2.83
#786Graphics2.46
#793Theme3.27

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Very very very cool! A little bit to frustrating, but that's the game. Love it!
Very simple, but works very well

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I love the simple graphics and puzzel element. Great job!

arzi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

A bit too difficult!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Interesting. A bit more polish and it will be a nice puzzle game.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Wow this is hard! :)
I like the concept, but the controls feel a bit weird. Jumping is too hard, and that should not be the case with a platformer like this.
Very nice gameplay!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Polish the game a bit more and you have a quality puzzle platformer!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Controls could be better

gallerdude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Very fun little game!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Works pretty well. And makes me rage, great interpretation of the theme. I love it!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Too frustrating to me, could rarely manage to jump over the spinning blades on the second level -_-. Nicely executed, and I'm glad someone executed on that way of applying the theme =).

wehard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I like it! A bit difficult!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:41am

Well executed.
Phew, I was also thinking of making a game where after every move the threat level increases :)

Polith Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

This is hard!! But i like it :D

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Wow that was tough but fun!

jigalx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:11pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH so frustratingly hard!! Well done.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Challenging, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:59am

Like the concept maybe to much difficult but I like it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]