Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Your City

by Flygamer101 - Compo Entry

Made by me. REALLY LOOK AT THE TUTORIAL.
Music is bad because I rushed xD
Known Bugs:
Graphical glitches on the side when moving if zoomed out
Cursor is a little sensitive


UPDATED TO ACCOMMODATE
Patch Ver. 1.2.5 Notes:
-Player starts zoomed out more
-More options to zoom (Still can see culling)
-Added help text at the bottom of Main Menu
-Added music toggle off/on in Main Menu
-Fixed cursor
-Fixed Music Bug
Note: No web version will be uploaded, as it is MUCH too laggy. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#364Graphics3.32
#544Mood2.88
#683Theme3.46
#788Innovation2.57
#844Overall2.75
#900Fun2.32
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Source not up yet, its a big file and uploading Right Now.

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Remember to report an Bugs you find to me.

Duobix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:50pm

I'd like to be able to zoom out a bit more, as the pixels were too big for me, and the choice of buildings by scrolling is kind of too much for me-a nice pop-up would do the job. I gotta say still, I like the Graphic astethics here.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33am

The game started out really zoomed in and I couldn't figure out how to escape.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07am

It is impossible to play(. The pixels are very large. http://rfdshir.net/img/bug1.jpg

You ask the question: "Cant you help me with Exporting Unity games to web" - well, I just use the WebGL build in last version of Unity 5, without any magic...

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

@takemikazuchi545 @Rfdshir
Did you follow the tutorial? If you had, you would have found out that you could zoom out/in with Q and E!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Some things, that I noticed:
- the tutorial isn't very helpful
- most of the time I have no idea what I'm building, because I cannot see the name of the thing I'm building (it just says "Selected Tile: Tile" in the top left corner)
- I built some stuff and had about 5000$ left but yet could not build any more things
- the music is clearly not by you (even if the recordings are, the songs are not), so you should have opted out of letting it getting rated

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Feels like an interesting game, but really hard to play as there is no information on what each tile does, and no tile names that could hint about what it does.
Also quite buggy with detecting which tile is under the cursor and when moving the camera, changing which tiles are active can be nice from a performance perspective but it also makes the tiles inside the viewport momentarily disappear and show the background instead.
The section of active tiles doesn't expand to accomodate zooming out either which leaves an island of tiles with the skybox visible around it.

alexander0153 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I really like the idea.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Nice game, I did experience some of the bugs chriiis88 reported (except the $5000 left but can't buy anymore) but they weren't game-breaking so I just played on. Overall a good game, well done :)

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Looks interesting but I didn't rate, the game runs super slow -less than 1fps (win7 here) and I couldn't understand what's going on. Cheers!

greenscreen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Game looks great and gameplay seems nice, but it's too heavy for my computer. I don't know why, but it lags soooo much... And after a few minutes of gameplay I couldn't build anything even though I had enough money.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I liked the idea and art style, but had difficulty doing things, clicks didn't seem to go where I'd expect, the highlight was always off to the left of where my mouse was, couldn't figure out how to harvest trees, sometimes right clicking near it worked, but never on it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

With some game play tweaks and fixes this would be a super fun game to play. But as it is right now it's just a good looking, good sounding game with clunky controls. The z-ordering really needs a fix though... Liked the game overall. Keep it up! :)

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Cool idea however there are some issues I have with the implementation:
Tile selection is off
How do i get food?
No tile names, what does what?
Hard to tell how exactly something is orientated
Seriously how do I get food?

You should add a better tutorial and name tiles. Also show how many resources a thing costs.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I really love sim city games, so I was looking foreword to playing this from the screenshot. Unfortunately the game seems to an interesting simulator hidden behind some rather difficult issues:
- First off I went through the tutorial, but it wasn't as helpful as I would have liked. I didn't figure out how to mine trees for resources, which ultimately prevented me from continuing once I had zero resources.
- Selecting buildings is VERY hard, especially on a touchpad. The values would change on the slightest of movements. In this case I could have suggested assigning keyboard keys to cycle through options (or a menu system as Duobix had suggested, though that probably would have taken a while to write).
- The currently selected tile would have benefited with some help text, namely the name of the building, and what it does. I know the tutorial went through it but it was a lot to memorize in once shot before playing.
- Given the amount of things to remember, actually putting a bunch of the text in the submission description would help, as players could refer to it while playing. This is also something you can change now without having to modify the game.
- There is a lack of feedback on the buildings built. I think this may tie into not knowing what the buildings were when being built, but it was also very difficult to see what each building was doing to understand how it affected food, money, resources, or population.

I feel your ambition in this game, and would love to see some post competition work done on this to make it easier to understand. It looks like there is a lot to this game, I just wish I knew how to play it properly.

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Well I wasn't really able to play and even after playing the tutorial I wasn't sure what to do lol
Choping down trees didn't work for me :O

But it looked nice anyways!

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice work!

The audio is quite nice and relaxing. I really like the pixelarts of your buildings and tiles :) Didn't quite figure out, how to get the city going well, but it was fun anyway!

I played the LD version (not post-compo).
Random thoughts and bugs:
-Tutorial: If you press backscape on the first message, you can't go forward again
-If you zoom out, the bg does not fill the screen. All special tiles like trees are drawn, but grass tiles are only draw in the central screen area.
-Tile selection glitches on wide zoom level (wrong tiles selected)
-An alternative tile selection mode would be nice for people without mousewheel ;)
-The drawalgorithm seems to draw last placed buildings last, so buildings placed behind existing buildings are drawn on top
-I didn't really figure out, how to get resources...
-An explanation of what building is selected would be nice. "Selected Tile: Tile" seems to be a bug.
-Explanations of building effects would also help (Additional to the money cost: Impacts on population, food, etc.)

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I like sim games and this has potential but right now i fell like the interface is not great and the tile selection is a little weird. I know that this problems could be worked out with a little bit more time. Hope you can continue working on it to see where this can go.

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

@StMatn thanks for your input. My game is bad of course because that bug where no one knows how to get resources, or know what building their placing.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46pm

This was a neat city simulator. I imagine this was very hard to do; it would take me forever to make something similar.

I tried out both the LD and post-LD versions of the game. You're probably already aware of the bugs of the LD version, but the post-LD version is still buggy (I'm on Windows 7):

- When I'm shown the Game Over screen and I go back to the menu, the music from that session doesn't stop playing and two music sources start playing at once over each other.

- The "Selected Tile" UI in the top-left corner shows a white box with nothing in it, so I never know what I building.

- One of the buildings, upon just placing it, seems to explode into several green/yellow tiles (I think it was the nuclear plant). I don't know if this was intentional.

- There is a yellow tile that grows like the plague. XD It even creeps over other buildings. It's like "Yellow Slime of Doom" or something.

- Probably because of the "Yellow Slime of Doom" growing too much, the game eventually slows down a ton.

- Right clicking on trees usually does nothing. I managed to only get that to work once.

I know that's a lot of bugs, but I still liked this game :) Awesome work. If you keep making it, it will probably be more awesome.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I always admire the ambition of people who make city builders for Ludum Dare - it's a huge project to try to pull off, especially for the compo.

There's a lot of fun to be had here, especially in the post-compo version, but the game needs a bit more work to reach its potential.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25pm

@Flygamer101: I appreciate self-criticism, but you don't not to be so harsh to say your game is bad ;) It actually is quite impressive, what you accomplished, it is just a bit rough around the edges, waht is totally ok for a LD game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]