Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Forks and Porks

by tanis - Compo Entry

2015/12/18 UPDATE
================
I've added a link to the post-compo version. It should be more responsive, more stable and fix some of the troubles some users experienced, especially on Windows.

Forks and Porks!
================
Keep your pigs safe while they grow. Once they're big enough they will be able to fly away with their secret power (I'm not disclosing where that comes from but you can guess by the puffs!).
Don't let the evil forks-equipped villains get to them!


How to play
===========
Aim with your mouse and left click on a villain to stop him from reaching the pigs!


Note for Windows users
======================
This game has been developed on Mac and I tried to build it on Windows in a hurry. It does work on my box but that's no guarantee it will work on yours. Please let me know if it works or if you're having issues.


What went good
==============
This is my first submission to LD. I can't believe I manage to submit something for the compo. That's a track record by itself :)
I didn't have time to get some assets and code ready ahead of time but I ended up creating some decent sprites and cutting them down to having just effects and no animations did help with time.
But most of all, I had a ton of fun making this! :)


What went wrong
===============
I wanted to add bonuses but that would have required more time, so they didn't make it in the game.
I had little time to tune difficulty so it might be way too easy for some or way too hard for others. Again, time restrictions are hard to deal with :)
Life duties kicked in cutting down the time available to work on the project, but that was unavoidable and I guess a lot of other guys faced the same problems as me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#130Humor3.32
#611Audio2.27
#796Mood2.38
#821Graphics2.37
#840Innovation2.44
#840Fun2.55
#899Theme2.85
#939Overall2.44

Comments

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Not really sure what I'm actually doing - the controls seem fairly unresponsive and I feel I have little impact on what happens. And everything is extremely sporadic. The pigs sound like they dog-toys in a blender.
I suppose it "does" fit the theme though, I just wouldn't exactly call it a game.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Nice! Very funny game to play. A bit repetitive.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I haven't figure out how to play it, it just keep crashing..

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

In my opinion the most prominent problem with your game is, that it doesn't feel responsive. The consequences of ones actions aren't well communicated to the player. It goes as far as having the feeling that your actions don't have any impact at all (as someone earlier stated in the comments) or are very unreliable.
I suggest to improve the "communication layer" of this or future games.
But maybe it's just a bug with the click detection and everything is just fine ;) Whenever I clicked the guys and they died in a poof of magic it felt responsive, but I couldn't help the feeling that it just happened unreliably.

I liked the graphics and sounds though! It worked just fine on my windows 8.1 machine.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Probably the game I will give the highest "Humor" rating to today :D . Nice game, more gameplay features would be nice though. Like different kind of peasents. (music would be nice to)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Seems pretty easy. Pig snorts get obnoxious pretty quickly. I did like that you had little audio bits for everything we're doing in the game. Threw an exception on exit.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Runs well on my Mac! I agree it's a bit hard to tell if you're doing the right thing, but once you figure things out it's fun. Occasionally my grown pigs would spontaneously sink back into the earth instead of fly away.

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Thank you all for the comments. I completely forgot about adding something to tell you when you're doing the right action :-P

I should have made the villains collider a lot bigger so that it would have been easier to get the hit on them.

Thanks for all the suggestions!!!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

It crashes, and when it doesn't the play doesn't feel good at all, but it seems funny!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27am

crashes for me (Windows)

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

Unfortunately I can't play, the game throws an unhandled exception as soon as the fork-guy touches the pig.

tanis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

I guess that all the crashes on Windows are due to OpenAL. I'll try to fix that and release a new version for Windows as soon as possible. Thanks for reporting the problem.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I dont knew how it work, i keep clicking and nothing happens.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Pretty funny, if minimalistic. Would like to see those bonuses, that didn't make the cut. Sound effects fit well, but some music would be nice.

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Interesting little game. I agree with what others have said, the controls seems bit unresponsive, and I wasn't entirely sure what i was doing at first...

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Cool! I laughed playing this. Are the pigs... farting?

phi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:47am

I love the cute animations, they make the game very appealing (even more so in the post-compo version). Also, gotta love the sounds, although they get pretty annoying after some time... Other than that, it could use a little more gameplay, but for your first submission, it's awesome! Good job! :)

bakudas says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]