Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blockman Panic

by jonnopon3000 - Compo Entry

Jump and glide into the strangely repetitive infinite expanding world of Blockman!

Controls:
W to jump, space (hold) to glide
(p to pause)
(Enter/Return to start/resume/restart)

Built with a kind of engine ish thing I'm adding to with every project

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Humor2.33
#662Audio2.00
#739Fun2.76
#746Theme3.35
#840Mood2.13
#853Graphics2.18
#884Overall2.65
#891Innovation2.24
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Dan Norder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19am

Can't get it to do anything?

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20am

its not working :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27am

not working

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19am

Hahah, my bad everyone, I think I removed the menu text that says "Enter to Start" - I'll update the description here. Sorry you couldn't play!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47am

I went ahead and put the help text back on the menu to avoid further confusion

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Simple platformer, and bugs are everywhere... I can jump from midair if not jumped before, and money can disappear without any reason, not mentioning 3 different buttons to control the game - actually you need to press Enter quite often as you lose. Why not Space?

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

The midair jump was a mistake (fixed along with some other stuff in the improved version), and I couldn't figure out what was making the money disappear before compo end - fix for that coming in a little bit.
Good point on using space instead of enter; slip of the brain on my part lol - thanks for the feedback

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

pretty fun. but after a while there's a gap that if you didn't come to it fast you will fall, that's less fun.

good work anyway!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:11am

Well I actually really liked the concept of gliding that you brought in. Made the game really fun, even though there were a few bugs here and there (I only played the 48h version). Nice simple graphics, too bad you didn't get enough time to polish it a bit more. Good job though!!

veverichka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:23pm

What a cute cube!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]