Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Turnips-n-Pigs

by Newan - Jam Entry

Controls:

- "WASD" or "ZQSD"
- "E" to feed
- Mouse button left to pick some turnips.

You have 2 minutes to go get most turnips in the field in the top of the map.
You just can wear ONE turnip. So you have to go in the field get one turnip and go back to the enclosure to feed your pig.

If you finish in - 2 min you win a multiplier time.

Theme : "Grow as these pigs".

Code : Newan & Graphics : Uubu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#197Humor(Jam)3.33
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#899Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

tooooo coooool

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

There are no download links :(

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Come on, let's put your game on Greenlight, no?

pta2002 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Uh... Where download?

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I'm getting warnings from Avira about a trojan when I try to download the game. Could it be a false positive?

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

That was quite an interesting game. I loved the graphics and the music wa pretty cool too. While the gameplay mechanic was unique, I found gameplay to be a bit slow to begin.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I don't get the controls. I can move by arrow keys, but I can't grab turnips by mouse or any other buttons. Game looks awesome and maybe someday I will be able to play it.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Really nice graphics and the feel of it. However, the controls are just stupid. I have one hand on mouse, and the other on keyboard, and I have to move my hand all the way to the "h" key from arrow keys. If only it was wasd or something.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

I'm the only one playing this with my arms crossed? haha. Great feel.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

The graphics and audio are amazing.

Newan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Sorry, we're french in the team so we prefer to have some arrow controls. We make what we can :'D First collaboration.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Really nice graphics and audio but I miss a little tutorial ingame

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Great graphics and sound, could do with a bit more gameplay

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice little game. I loved the art, and the concept is fun ! Juggling between H and the mouse is a bit unnatural though.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

So, I'll start with the bad. The controllers. It felt weird to have to change between the button for picking up the turnips and feeding the pigs.

But except for that, it's a pretty charming game! The graphics and audio were simplistic but still very soothing. I especially enjoy the oh so beautiful start-up screen you have. I also had a bit of a laugh feeding the pigs fat.

Good job!

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Graphics are pretty I guess, the controls are weird, but hey I believe it can be a great game, I would use a key to pick up things.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Very nice game, the music is really awesome and the graphics very cool!

Just some problemes for Newan:
-the colliders bounding box are very large, this affects the gameplay on the wrong way
-the player's movement are too restrictive, you need to use a script that allow you to get around a collider if the collision is only on one or two pixels.

Also the gameplay buttons is not well thought out:
-or you do the game whith the mouse
-or you do the game with the keyboard
not both at once if the mouse can be replaced by a touch.

Cool game btw!

Devon Motola says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Yay, this turned out really well! (I made the music) :)
But yes, the controls do need to be updated to WASD,E,Mouse

Devon Motola says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

And updated controls, thank you!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Cool graphics and a nice atmosphere!
However, the mouse didn't appear to work as I couldn't pick up turnips and ended up getting confused and frustrated. The game was also quite slow but it came under a surprisingly small storage use. Overall a pretty neat game.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

Visuals are terrific. Was a little confused as to what to do for a while. Perhaps a little in-game walkthrough for picking up a turnip and feeding it to a pig would help. Gameplay is simple but fun. Well done

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38pm

rly nice game

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Love the 8 bit color scheme, looks great plays great! Well done

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:47am

the art was really great, and I enjoyed the concept behind this, great job :)

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I think the theme is interesting and fun. You could have used the arrows for the controls, it wasn't clear how to play and my char got out of the screen and didn't came back in my first play.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34am

Superbe! J'aime beaucoup l'esprit du jeu, la musique, les graphisme, le tout marche très bien :) J'ai juste buté sur les contrôles, je pense que tout faire au clavier aurait été un plus, la souris perturbe un peu. Ce qui aurait pu être un plus aussi aurait été l'ajout de power-up, aller plus vite, rajout de temps etc.. peut être pour l'apres ldjam ? :) bravo en tout cas!!

Pusty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Really good audio and graphics! Nice one

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]