Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spellblast

by Tonal Recall Games - Jam Entry

*GROWING YOUR VOCABULARY*

Forever Humble PDX via Tonal Recall Games Presents Spellblast!

Spellblast is a genre mashup, between a Shoot 'em Up & a Word Game.
Imagine R-Type bought Boggle a few drinks on a friday night.....some scented candles....little Netflix & Chill....

Bada Bing Bada Boom!
9 Months later.....Spellblast was born.

A new take on an old genre, Spellblast mashes the best elements of Shoot 'em Ups & Word games.
Blast your way through infinite levels and hordes of enemies, to collect the necessary letters for each round.
Once collected, you must unscramble the word before time runs out....while still having to take on the enemy onslaught.
If you are successful in your task, you will face some of the badest bosses space has to offer!


So get your spacesuits on & break out the dictionary, because.... In Space....No One Can Hear You Spell!

("Two Button Controls" were determined by NES Controller configuration, not counting the directional pad as a "button". "Growing"....well it's time to grow your vocabulary)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#189Humor(Jam)3.36
#225Graphics(Jam)3.98
#273Fun(Jam)3.47
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#1027Theme(Jam)2.60

Comments

carlsommer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

This is a cool concept, it was really tough though. Even the letters were kind of hard to read sometimes (specifically "I" and "L" would take a while to figure out which was which.) The boss fights are awesome (love the rap : )

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

The art is awesome! The music and mix of the art styles however makes me confused, and throws me into fits of giggling at best. One has to bear in mind that my spelling is terrible. "lains"? "ians"? ... ??

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Lol, cool art, realy! Good concept for gameplay and monsters!

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Great mix up of genres, I'd never would of thought of mixing a word game and a shooter! My favorite part of this entry is the graphics and monster designs. It looks like they were drawn with skill, the best comparison I can make would be something I would see in a surreal Adult Swim cartoon.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

*doge*

wow, much monsters, space wow

5/5

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Ok, this doesn't fit in any of the themes IMO, in total there's 6 buttons, and growing the vocabulary?? nice try, but nope xD.

The meme references are fun, but, overall the art it's too exagerated, anyway the game itself kept me entertained more than i expected!! the gameplay it's fun, although i miss maybe to be able to charge the gun, and to not being able to shoot the letters was very annoying, because enemies could shoot, but i couldnt :/

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

This game was really fun and I believe it can be expanded further.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The art is just really awesome, and we had a good laugh !

There are a couple of mistakes though : some ennemies fire smaller ennemies that are destructible, and somme ennemies fire missiles that are indestructble. That's alright, but one of the indestructible missiles looks a lot like an enemy.
One of us find that the letters graphics do not fit with the rest of the game and it's a shame.

Great game overall, rated high :)

zulman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Love it love it love it love it. I think little more dynamics (closer to bullet hell) and i'll ready to buy at on steam or for smartphone :)

nodens says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

An amusing concept for sure. Makes me wish I wasn't so awful at word puzzles :P

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Pretty fun, kinda reminds me of edutainment games I used to play as a kid. Nice graphics. Unsure how it has anything to do with the themes though.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

For german keyboard users the controlls are awefull. z and x are NOT next to eachother on our boards. Anyway... challenge accepted! funny game, cool Art and great humor. Themewise i would say thats NOT what two-button controll or growing intended ;)
I had fun anyway!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31am

Nice game, but doesn't exactly fit the theme. nicely done.

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33am

Good graphics but way too many gameplay mechanics to think at the same time. maybe the phase of solving sould be separated from the shooting avoiding phase.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:59pm

This has some really nice art!
Some letters are a bit hard to read though.
But overall, this is a really solid game! I've enjoyed it :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really impressed with the art in this game and loved the camera shake when shooting. I wish I could shoot the bullets though!
I feel like the two parts of the game, the shooting and collecting letters where a bit disconnected. I don't understand what the benefit was for spelling the word was. Also I think i hit a bug because I was stuck invincible for the entire boss fight.
Overall really well made though!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

@Tasgardyen
One of the joys of being an indie gamemaker is the freedom of interpretation. So we didn't make a plant or building grow...we chose to grow your vocabulary. Yay for trying something different.
@crucknuk
Not sure what you think is happening, but alas, you can't shoot ANY of the enemy bullets. LOL
@the-arrival
Sorry for not thinking of German keyboards...try an x-box controller, it was designed for that purpose.
@QuestionableQuality
The benefit of the word...lol...well it's a word game. So getting the word correct before the boss fight does 2 things....it will give you a shield on your last life against the boss (so not a bug there), as well as award you an extra life if you beat the boss. If you get the word incorrect, no shield and no extra life.
@Shivur
Well it's only 2 mechanics...I can see how that could be tough. If we separated the 2 mechanics, it completely dissolves the game design we absolutely intended. The entire point is to have to unscramble a word while still playing a shmup. This ain't grandmas Boggle!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I was awesome even though it doesn't really fit the theme

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Awesome art! I want it on my phone!

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:52pm

The concept is interesting. The art and sound are awesome. But I had issues with the words (some made no sense). Also in my opinion forcing the player to go through the tutorial is a bad idea.
Overall very nice game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

@dark_hunter
which words made no sense?
do you have examples?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45am

@dark_hunter
Some of the words won't just make sense because you don't know them. Lol...GROW YOUR VOCABULARY. They are all legit words and can be found in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. When you get a word wrong the game tells you the correct word so you can look it up and learn something. Edutainment at it's bullet hell best.
Also, you are only forced to play the tutorial the first time you play. For a mechanic scheme that's not been done before, it's very important to teach a player how to play your game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Great, amusing art, loved the enemy designs!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:40am

I gave up on the tutorial.. such high promise on the game because of the graphics and it could be an awesome game if you did just one thing: Increase the speed 5x.

The game is really boring as it is and the tutorial have too much text. Come on, it is a shooter.. take me to the action!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:47am

@nunesbarbosa
Lol. Without the tutorial you would just die anyway.
XD

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Awesome, game. Not 100% sure about the spelling theme though, a lot of the time I would shoot the letter by firing too many bullets at the enemies I was shooting.

Also, DATO?!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:37pm

It was a little difficult but that's how I like it! I felt the graphics were just amazing, my cup of tea! The concept was fantastic too, great stuff overall!

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Really neat game, lovely graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]