Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mowing

by globemaster - Compo Entry

This is my first LD submission and I know I have lots to improve for next time.

Any and all feedback is appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme4.00
#446Fun3.20
#540Innovation3.07
#570Overall3.13
#613Graphics2.87
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I really liked the idea but I kept getting super stuck on the rocks and water going for the 100% and there was no way out but to wait for my gas to run out :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Good game, but add some upgrades for additional depth.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Surprisingly entertaining. Though like @TeamOliphants said: Got stuck in rocks with no way out.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Please, change the text of the download link: it's not the "Web", but the "Windows" one.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01am

Note: your link says "Web" but goes to a download for a Windows executable. You might want to change the link name to make that more clear, since most people will see "Web" and expect something that runs in the browser.

This is a cool idea, but the gameplay gets tedious pretty quickly. After a while the mowing starts to feel like an actual chore. Also, the collision physics are extremely janky. Being teleported to the side and having my velocity reset when I run into a rock is not a good experience, it's very jarring. I also got stuck on the rocks and couldn't move until my mower ran out of gas.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:02am

Nice mechanics, it really resembles the feeling of using a lawnmower. I failed level 3, but it still took me to the victory screen.
There was no audio for me, is that a bug?

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

Also, there's no audio, so you should remove that category from your scoring.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

First Ludum Dare game I played to completion for a very simple unassuming game a really enjoyed it. I liked the "speeding" mechanic and the balance between grass and completion was just right. The end scene was a nice little extra aswell. Only downside was I did get stuck on rocks 3 times but was glad to see I didn't have to start from the beginning. Good job!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:38am

Congratulations on your first LD submission!

Simple, but good idea, controls feel right, acceleration feels right, graphics fit together well.

However, I found the game a bit boring (that might be because I don't own a lawn). A bit of good background music could have made it quite a relaxing experience.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:15pm

I kinda wish that people didn't have such big lawns, but I'm super happy that I've finally saved up enough for that N64 I've always wanted!
A nice, simple, yet original concept. Might have benefited from some funky audio. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]