Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rodger

by Bailman03 - Jam Entry


This is Rodger a Side scroller Sci-Fi shooter. Rodger is a young space cadet whos goal is to get past enemies in hopes of finding and defeating the evil Mr. Couchman.

This game was developed by 3 high school students who spent 3 sleepless night in order to develop the best game of their ability.

Spencer Bell - Programmer

Parker Hicks - Artist/Animator

Zach Brady - Sound Producer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Audio(Jam)3.91
#398Fun(Jam)3.30
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#457Humor(Jam)2.74
#528Graphics(Jam)3.44
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#785Innovation(Jam)2.72
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Genuinely really enjoyed this, big well done guys! Really liked the animation of the main character, as well as the general simplicity of the mechanics - kept well with the theme of two button controls!

Hopefully see you in future game jams..!

Bailman03 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Thanks george we are definitely looking to participate in plenty more game jams.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Great game ! Nice work guys, I enjoyed playing your game.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Awesome game. The audio and graphics are great and it controls well.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

nice game, though the sea horse looking things were a bit hard to dodge the bullets. other then that it played ok.

benjaml says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Cool game, music is just awesome !!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Good gameplay, would be better if there is a level selection.

Bailman03 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

haha thanks jcmonkey ya those enemies take a while to get down the rhythm to dodge their shots!
glad all you guys are liking it!

Bailman03 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Hey thanks jerry111zhang that was a feature we were really pushing to get in but were having tons of issues with. we will try and see if we can get that in within 2 hours but if not then it will be a post jam feature for you guys.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really like the music! Good job!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

nice work! great music and art :)

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

Good job, nice graphics, I enjoyed playing your this one.!!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

This was a really cute game :) It was pretty hard to beat the seahorse like enemies xD

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Cool! Nice audio and simply gameplay.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Neat. Interesting gameplay, but it seems to me that it is too linear. I like aesthetic and music. A good entry. Thank you ++

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Excellent music (maybe too good aha) and graphics (really great fx and animations in contrast with some drawings :/).
The gameplay is smooth but level design is really linear, and bullets are almost impossible to avoid..
But overall a neat game, well done!

ryan.poitras says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Good use of the two-button theme. Intro/tutorial doesn't need to be so long IMO.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Very good music and sound design. But I found the game is a little bit too hard at the begining.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Good gameplay, i just had a problem with purple monster who shoot out of screen and it's undogeable :(
Loved the music :)

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

This was a fun game! The theme was nicely interpreted and the music was very nice. It would have been nice to have to audio accompaniment to the lasers and jet pack, but overall, this was quite fun. Well done.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:22am

Pretty cool. i like all the animations. nice work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:51am

nice job here - solid controls - simple gameplay - well done

Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

Nice graphics, but the mouse control did not play well with my browser's mouse gestures =/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]