Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Matrix Infiltration

by ErelDev - Jam Entry

In Matrix Infiltration, you have to develop your network by scanning and hacking computers and servers !

Hack servers to gain more cash by second
Use your cash to upgrade your computer !

Be careful, police can scan your computers/servers ! If it's the case you have to clean your logs otherwise your research level will be increased !

If your Research level is equal to 5 stars, you have been detected and you lose the game !

You can buy trackers to detect police scan !

**********

Controls the game with the mouse onlny

**********

I've chose the theme: Growing !

The game was made in 72 hours with:
- Superpowers (HTML5 game engine)
- Gimp/Photoshop

Team:
- Gaarnik (me)
- Kirthos
- Calapout
- T0t0k
- Siridyx
- viewers of ErelDev twitch channel for their help !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#508Audio(Jam)3.02
#615Fun(Jam)3.04
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#835Theme(Jam)3.24
#857Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Cool game, once I figured out what I was doing. Try to explain that more clearly next time.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

awesome, great concept, this would make a great multiplayer game

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Hacker's must have tool next to Hacker Typer. :)

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I liked playing around, the music suited the game well. Good job!

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

This is pretty cool. Audio is spot on. I agree that the guide wasn't as helpful as it looked once I started playing.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I like the concept a lot, i found hacking and scaning a bit to slow though. But great game over all! And the music and sounds are great!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nice, I enjoyed playing it. Maybe a bit too long? (I reached 3 stars then stopped)

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Really loved it! I ended up having an empire of servers and computers! Maybe some more node types would be nice :D Keep up the good work guys!

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

took a little to understand what to do, but it's fun!

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The game makes very good first impression, but after a while it becomes boring.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02am

interesting gameplay, and well executed in my opinion.

very fun, nice job :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Simple, clean gameplay that is simple to learn and can be quite addictive. Damn those police trying to stop my hacking awesomeness! Great job guys :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Cool hacking game is quite fun and interesting.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Very nice Audio and overall atmosphere. And a Matrix-Theme :D
But I think the gameplay should be more dynamic. You should not wait so long for the next move.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:01pm

This game has a great concept and is really fun. The progression of difficulty felt really natural as my network grew larger and harder to maintain.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20pm

innovative, large scale, lots of clicking, it seemed way too easy, i liked the growth aspect a lot, looks like its worth developing further, nice job team :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Nice cool game

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Sweet game! I feel a few more unit types, detection types and strategies could flesh this out into a mobile game!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Interesting game, once we figured out what we have to do, the game become quite fun ^^ Good job ^^

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:58am

Great hacker life ;) Love it !

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Nice idea, interesting approach to the them

myachin says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:01pm

yeaaah!
my cash is over 250k
i built full network!

scrolling is good idea!

on last phases of game its very meditative to scan and hack all computers

my lovely game in this ld
good job

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Perhaps the idea has some potential, but I think the game should be more challenging or provide some new things to discover.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]