Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eat and Run

by Rudenko - Compo Entry

Hello, this is my firs LD entry ;)
A : Left, D : Right.

Tools:

Sublime Text 3
Haxe
Luxeengine (http://luxeengine.com/)
Ableton
Inkscape
Gimp

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#282Graphics3.48
#320Fun3.37
#330Humor2.70
#355Theme3.88
#456Overall3.26
#475Mood2.96
#581Audio2.39
#637Innovation2.88
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

I got 624, fun game but you don't speed up fast enough

Waynetron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

Fun game! I got 1885.
Starts off a little slow.

Rudenko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Thank you! i was thinking about speed, so i will increase speed ;)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Here I am, poopin' ants! I didn't realize getting ants on me was taking out my health :(

Fun game, would be good on mobile!

Belvar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really nice movement feeling and animations.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

Nice game. Only problem is I don't like bugs. :(

Rudenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23am

thanks Dmitrix! what kind of bugs :) ? ill fix them if you can tell me where and when ;) there is one if you stopped by rocks, you need push space couple times to restart.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice! got 1718. As FuzzyWuzzie suggested, this would be great on mobile

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50am

can you shake the ants off, or do they just fall off with time?

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Awesome first try, had a fun time with those spiders sticking to me, looks and feels nice also. Keep it up.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Nice art and gameplay idea, but I seem to bug out whenever an ant jumps on top of me.

Rudenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

justinooncx thanks ! i was thinking about when ants will be, and desided for now on top :) maybe later i will change it.
retrogradeorbit they fall off with time for now, and time depends on size of ant, also with poop :D
TomenLuca thank you!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19am

Not inovating but still a great game!

dusho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41pm

pretty good game..
also didn't get that my HP was getting down.. pretty un-noticable.. was fun

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:33am

The controls are so nicely tuned! Just worming your way around is fun :)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I expected to speed up faster. I like the balls physics!

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

It's a very decent game, fitting very well with the theme, and with these bits of addictive stuff ^^. The only cons I find are that is a little slow paced at first, and the music is repetitive after a while.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]