Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sushi Pit Cephalopod

by kirbytails7 - Compo Entry

As an octopus, juggle sushi rolls over the Sushi Pit to serve them to customers! What high score can you get?

Best played with 8 joysticks (4 controllers) + keyboard, though you may also use 0-7 joysticks and the keyboard. You really just need a keyboard, but it's best with 8 joysticks. Lay them out on the table. Maybe you could spread them around the room? Whatever most makes you feel like an octopus.

Fits the Two Button Controls theme because there are only two buttons (and eight joysticks) used to play the game. Also, it only uses the two Control keys (unless on Mac) (more than a gimmick - they're easiest to reach when also using four controllers).

Made with Unity 5.2 and Visual Studio 2015. Visuals with Paint.Net, and audio with Garageband and Audacity. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#17Humor4.00
#46Innovation4.03
#131Fun3.68
#163Overall3.69
#178Audio3.36
#241Graphics3.58
#320Mood3.21
#842Theme3.13

Comments

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

A fun little game, there seems to be no penalty for spamming all keys at once though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

@donvermo - Whatever makes you feel like an octopus. ;) The animation delay on the tentacles plus the penalty for dropping sushi countered spamming in my scant testing, but I didn't do any external playtesting, so I'm not surprised.

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

What a funny take on "two buttons!"

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15am

Love the theme. On the other hand, since I don't have controller around the controls were annoying.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17am

I had great time trying your little game. Well done !

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

An entry that had me laughing from the description until the bitter end. Dammit, I fed that octo-pussy good and all I got was 0 :) Really like that you created an anti-theme, I wish more people would do that :) Really fun entry. Luckily my keyboard doesn't jam up so I could pretty much press everything at the same time.

Creddie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Very innovative controls and impressive live demo presentation.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:53am

Thanks for the comments!
@tanjent :) Glad you enjoyed it! (I had forgotten about the key limit thing! I hope that doesn't make anyone feel less like an octopus.)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48am

Our team saw this game presented at the SURF jam recently. It looked totally bonkers with all those controllers, and we LOVED seeing it in action. Great job on this game. We hope you build it out further!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43am

fun game, a little hard sometimes

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

Without 8 sticks this was really difficult due to ghosting on the keyboard. I wish it would've also simply allowed 8 buttons on a controller.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

Fun game, but I don't think this really fits the theme. at least since I only had 2 controllers, so I played with 6 keys.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55am

@Imagos - Thanks!
@YinYin - Yeah, I forgot about ghosting (are you mashing too much? ;) ), but I wanted to optimize for eight sticks instead because octopus!
@thecatspajamas - What? It totally only uses 2 buttons! ;) I mean, unless you play just keyboard, but that's the, erm, non-standard control scheme?

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Aboslutely love it, I love octopusses I love sushi, I love button mashing and derpy games. So lovely! This game really made me happy

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Hehe, yeah I tried mashing a lot - but then due to that I figured I have to ferry over just one at a time.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Really good take on the theme!

Saivan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:23am

It's a mice work for two days! Congratulations!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice game. Like your way to control tentacles.

Garris says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This game was really fun, and cute! The controls worked nicely, and it made me really wish I had those joysticks. Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]