Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

1 Button Wizard X2

by BoxedMeatRevolution - Jam Entry

YOU HAVE A FRIEND:
You are a wizard. You have 1 button. Your friend is a wizard. They have one button. That makes 2 buttons. 1 Button Wizard X2.

YOU DON'T HAVE A FRIEND:
You are a wizard. You have one button. Your computer contains a wizard. They have one button. That makes 2 buttons. 1 Button Wizard X2.


Play our fun 1 (X2) button fighter game pls. <3

Spell Cheatsheet:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/GeoYS/LD34/master/template/assets/cheat_sheet.png

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Innovation(Jam)3.89
#80Fun(Jam)3.83
#215Overall(Jam)3.66
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#908Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

pretty cool game. very fun to play with friends

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37am

man, havent had so much fun in long time. one button controls are amazing. studying cheatsheet reminded me of tekken days. 2.5(x2) stars

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

Woah amazing work on the one button controls. Clever game design there. This entry has a lot of potential, I really hope you continue development on this on concept in the future.

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

This was really fun! Tighten up the graphics and the audio, and you've got something special!

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45am

Quite a wide variety of possible moves and interactions.
Graphics weren't great but it is a consistent style.

Props for having a nice in-game tutorial.
Overall, I did enjoy the gameplay quite a bit.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48am

Alot of fun for such a simple yet involved control scheme. Think it would have been a bit better with less health to make matches a bit quicker

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54am

Surprisingly deep game! Very impressive!

DugelStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

pretty good game. tutorial was also well documented, which is defiantly crucial to a game like this

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Innovation 5/5: Really innovative game!

Fun 4/5: It's repetitive after a while, but trying different spells is funny.

Theme 5/5: Great use of theme!

Graphics 2/5: Rushed MS Paint graphics. At least have charm :).

Humor 4/5: Funny enemies.

Mood 3/5: The backgrounds and characters give to it a fantastical environment mood.

Overall 5/5: Great entry, improve graphics and change a bit the controls (I would suggest one button for green circles and anoher fo red ones). It have a lot of potential.

Penthaquill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

This has to be my favorite game so far! :) Great gameplay and if you added more enemies (maybe random?) i could see myself buying this game for money!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

Cool game lots going on with one button

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Well done! Feels like the finger gymnastics from magicka but with one button. O_O

kmakai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

I thought this was a really awesome entry! Great concept that fits perfectly with the theme (as another comment said, you could have made the "long-press" a different button, but that would have made potential balance issues with the mana orbs...) it was lots of fun and felt fleshed out for a jam game. I liked the charm of the art, and particularly appreciated that you went "all-in" with it -- making full backgrounds and details in the levels, which takes it above what a lot of other entries get to. Again, great job and congrats! I had a lot of fun with this one.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

Loved it! I find it funny lol, also spell combinations were fun to discover and play with

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21am

Pretty fun! Great focus on gameplay. I wish I had a friend to play with, but the bots seemed to fight well enough. well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25am

The controls are amazing. I loved the tutorial, it was fantastic. The fact that you have two player and single player is astounding. This would be great to play with friends. I had so much fun that I bookmarked it. Your gameplay is innovative, robust, and fun. It's simple and technical at the same time. I'm very impressed. You should get an artist to work with you and develop this further!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53am

Neat mechanic for 1 button.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

Very good use of the 2 button mechanics. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this. The fights are a little bit too long imo (maybe reduce HP). The game design as a whole is outstanding though, and there's definitely a lot of depth to it. Great Job!

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08am

Fantastic job. Was super fun to figure out which combinations did what.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice entry. I like the fact that you implemented many different spells and the game is funny. Well done ;)

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Incredible, Quite a lot of spells and enemies to fight against!

SoulBound says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:29am

Fun game. I am not a big fan of the graphics but they work.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33am

Neat concept! Good work!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Cool game! I'll have to try this with my roommate. :) My favorite things in games is messing around and seeing what abilities and mechanics are available. So naturally, I loved this. Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:39am

That was a really cool game. I love fighting games and this one even had a cool mechanic too boot! Well Done.

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:53pm

This was very fun with a friend! The gameplay is simple to learn but challenging to master. We had lots of fun trying to out-wizard each other. The sounds and graphics go along nicely together. Good work!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Mechanics reminds me Magicka. I don't like sounds, when you've played for a long time they're annoying. Overall a solid entry!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:05am

Very innovative!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:06pm

The game is fun and I really like the concept you were going with. Really liked getting the combo where you slow down the projectiles, and afterwards just annihilate the opponent by using the magic shield and see their face when I send like 3 projectiles at them for a almost one-hit move.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The good:
Neat concept and true to the theme: attacks are determined by length of pressing buttons/button patterns.

The tutorial was very good

The bad:
I wish the sprites were a little more detiled but I can't fault you for that because the mechanics are solid.

Nice work!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Really nice game overall, loved the combo possibilities.

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:55pm

The graphics are pretty terrible but understandable for programmer art. The gameplay is amazing and reminds me a lot of Magicka, with a dash of Divekick mixed in. Very awesome, well done.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Wow really good entry!
Such a cool idea and really fun to play,
I like the little dance when you beat somebody :)
Nice!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

This is excellent, if I were you I would definitely expand this, it has great potential as a phone game.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I really like the dnace that the wizard does when he wins. pretty cool game.

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Wow this one is really great! Gameplay is so amazing!!! Very nice work, like it, man!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Fun game, and love the different combinations you can do

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]