Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kitty Glacier Surfing

by HUMANICS - Jam Entry

This is our second Ludum Dare, again using our own custom graphics engine. Now with physics and bone animations, although we didn't get to use the bones this time. We even lowered the hardware requirement to OpenGL 3.2, so no more excuses, come play our game!

We mostly went with the "two buttons" theme, but fwiw, the race track keeps GROWing infinitely :)

Online High Scores at http://kitty-ld34.azurewebsites.net/

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IMPORTANT HINT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you only see giant spheres instead of a kitty and stuff, try starting the game with SHIFT pressed to activate a compatibility mode. Might impact performance, but also those spheres. You might have to click to focus the game after starting.
This only works under Windows.

=========================================================

Controls:

Move the mouse left/right to steer
Left click to jump
Right click to drink invulnerability-elixier

Score by making your way downhill, collecting stars and killing snow men!

=========================================================

Code: Benedikt Walser, Kim Werner
Some models are grabbed from the web, as are some textures.

=========================================================

- Linux version is up!
- Added a video for all the poor folks who can't run it.
- That garbled-sphere geometry bug should be fixed
- well, added a compatibility mode for that, start with SHIFT pressed (Windows only)
- Fixed the all-white bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65
#950Theme(Jam)2.95

Comments

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25pm

The game is very fun, just try it.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I'm not quite sure what I just played
I mean

there was a cat
on a plank of wood
surfing
what

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

It did not work for me, i could only see the sky and falling snow with the score counter. I tried it few times :c

ahmedrage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Loved it, the leaderboard was a nice touch, all it needed was more sound.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Game crashed when I tried to open it. Looks pretty funny though!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

What did I just play?

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I'm also having issues running this unfortunately, but it looks great!

Here's the most suspicious error in the output:

15/12/2015 14:01:45.358 ERROR ..\..\..\Humangine\src\ShaderManager.cpp:90: Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:70: error(#160) Cannot convert from: "4-component vector of vec4" to: "highp float"

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Good fun game !

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice job! The infinite map generation works well. The controls are a bit wonky but it's still playable - plus with some skill there's some mad jumps to be made :D Also the powerups work fine and seem to be well balanced.

My main suggestion would be to tweak the physics/controls a bit and use more consistent art style (graphics+sound) ; other than that it's a pretty good entry.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Most ammount of fun Ive ever had with a taxidermy cat. perfectly mounted on its mahogany base too.

Wasnt exagerating with the fun bit either. Give me this over SSX anyday ;)

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Didn't work for me either, I can only see the falling snow (and that I'm getting score/losing lives).

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

It's an interesting game. It would be nice if the controls were a little tighter. Also, it seems like the hit boxes for the trees won't let you go under the branches.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I am also having problems playing the game. First I see some snow falling, then white textureless cat (I assume its the surfing cat).
Then theres count down...afterwards lot of garbage appear and I cant figure out whats going anymore. Wanted to try this game badly :/

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I need to beat this Highscore somehow....>.>....<.< and it has cats!

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Did not work for me, camera is stuck in white cloud at the beginning doing nothing :/

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Very silly game. Well done on the leaderboard.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

not working. just snow and weird white shapes. i'm on windows.

maerzhase3000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

i like cat's and the game is fun :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

@DeathBySnail: That particular bug should be fixed.

@others: You need at least OpenGL 3.2, or it just won't work. Maybe you can find solace in the YouTube video ;)

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Yay, made it onto the high score... for a while at least :D
Fun game. Big kudos for going with your own engine, that's really awesome.
I had to link my librtmp.so.1 to librtmp.so.0 for the game to start, as that version of the lib was not bundled and I had a later version installed.
Otherwise the game ran great, launched in fullscreen on my 34" monitor, was a very immersive experience.
Now I truly feel like a cat going downhill on a plank of wood :P
Also really cool with online high scores, gives the game a lot of replayability.
Only thing I can complain about is that the camera was a bit jumpy at times.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

10/10 Has Cat

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Although i too was having issues, after clicking the screen i was sent into what i can only assume was the game. my "cat" was a giant garbled sphere, and so was everything else. i couldn't see the floor.

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Why would a kitty go down a slope? because it is fun! nice game! The lowtech graphics are just perfect, maybe the steering needs more balancing.

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I have one word for it: CATS.
Seriously tho, it was a snowboarding cat. What's not to like?

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Aww, it locked the cursor, black screened and then crashed over here, nuts, still, the youtube video looked pretty nice :)

In-case it helps with debugging, On a dual monitor set-up on Win7 Pro 64-bit.

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I love sliding games. good job with this one, I could spend hours playing if I had the time <3

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I can't stop laughing! One of the best entry!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:59am

Oddly soothing...

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11am

Winter sports entry! Nice! =)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Cat on the snowboard is the great idea! :)

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Fun game and nice 3d graphics, weird theme though xD. The controls are a bit non-responsive.

Good Job :)

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

It did not work for me, I had a kind of bugged sphere in the middle of nowhere, not really anything looking like a cat.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

This was actually really fun! Good job on the engine, runs really smoothly. I got 2nd place on the board!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:46am

This games give me a nice mood.. It does not fit on any theme though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15am

What did i just... k this is a weird but hella fun looking game please make a post-jam version of this :p
Gameplay actually seemed pretty solid for how simple the game is, graphics were good too, and the concept was wacky and different but in a good way. Good entry!!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:09pm

nice game) beutiful art. all the peoplle love cats!

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Great game! Very simple controls but difficult to stay alive for long. It is very satisfying once you start gaining speed. My friend made Top 1 on the board! Loved it.

kabel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Reminds me of old Nokia games. Nice, i guess.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:03pm

*surfs down the hill* *hits a tree* "Au!" Girlfriend in the back: "no, meow!" And she was right!
Reminds me a lot of Tux Racer.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Aww, got the white unshaded objects as well. No way to play like that.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Really nice game, needs a bit more polish and visual feedback but it's pretty fun to play. And it has kittens.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Idea is fun! But still needs quite some polish. Didn't jump much because it didn't feel all that useful. A menu would and a way to reset the game without quitting would be nice. Still, overall pretty good entry. (And first place on the leader board baby! :p)

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:57pm

There is something nice in steering controls. Personally I would like to sly as dolphin.
And there could be bouns for killing snowman mid air.

omaha says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:47am

This is very funny.

I wish the cat was animated. I so badly wanted to see him/her doing tricks while in the air. Maybe I just played too many snowboarding games growing up?

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The game would be more fun it you wasn't driving a cat :P

terryg says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Couldn't get it to run on my i7. Just a black screen. Looks like a great concept.

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:53am

Kitty Glacier Surfing... OKAY! Overall I liked the feel of surfing once I got used to the controls, although I didn't feel the need to jump much. I think I was trying to avoid everything and only just realized you could kill snowmen. I just flew into them and died :D

It would be wonderful to have a bit more feedback when you get hit and lose a life. Sometimes I was hitting rocks and taking no damage, whereas if I was even 1 meter away from a tree it felt like I got damaged by it.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Nice (infinite) snow-slope runner sub-theme co-competitor entry. The randomness can cause the track to be essentially completely blocked but with the 9 lives it's not so bad. Nicely done.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Sometimes, colliding into a boulder at full speed causes the cat to bounce off of it, moving up hill, and through the slope's walls. To be fair, after successfully clipping out of the level, I was able to sled back in, so yay?

Simple game with oddly slippery controls. I wasn't sure I was in control, moving the mouse left and right, after sliding down at higher speeds. Random level design generation could be more forgiving, as there were points where I couldn't go through any further. Then again, I did get a high score of 700+.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:32am

Let's go surfing now, everyone is learning how come on a safari with me.

scorched says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Crashed on me on right-clicking executable. Windows 7 64-bit

scorched says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Sorry, left-clicking, of course! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]