Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attrition

by Team Buttfacę - Jam Entry

A game of the Gods, where you draw and play spells for the cost of Aether.
Be careful, Aether regenerates slowly, think about what and when you use your spells.
You strive to help your people grow in population. But they are not the brightest bunch.
They will grow out of their food production capacity and if they start starving, they
WILL start dying! They also destroy their own land in the process, so that will need to
be restored by casting rain. And if you need extra aether of if the people are growing
on bad lands, sacrifice them! It is up to you what kind of god you will be.

If anyone is expiriencing crashes, you need GL ES 2.0 support, which means you need to install your graphics drivers. Derp :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#210Innovation(Jam)3.57
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#745Humor(Jam)2.18
#872Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

Game seems to crash for me when I run the .exe running on Windows 7. Not sure why.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Concept is really great! It could be a really great game on steam with a little more of UI and graphics! The generation of the village is amazing! But the gameplay seems buggy. I didn't do anything and my people starved at first and the flourish as hell!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

looks like this has a lot of potential - hi marks for graphics and mood

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Never went past 1700 people not enough water ... :(
Fun game!!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Nice idea and great art. Would be nice to see an indicator of how much of an area your card is affecting.

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Game crashed after I played the first card. I also had to make sure I was using the GPU and not the CPU.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I like the idea. But got stuck because I didn't have enough Aether to cast spells or I only got spells that give me Aether. Would be nice to be able to discard spells or have a larger selection.

exhidor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:37pm

I really like the concept bug the game seems a bit buggy. The fact that ther isn't any menu is a problem too, you're a bit lost at first. Bug fixed, the game could be really nice !

mnill says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45pm

funny concept, help button will be nice.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:35pm

The game looks really gream, but I cant quite get it going smoothly. Maybe a tutorial would be helpful ;)
Also I didn't get, why you should be selecting a card and then need to click a button, positioned half across the screen. I would recommend to work UI over, but thats just a suggestion ;)
Gfx look very beautiful (especially the cards!) and the audio is very fitting.
All in all awesome work!

To the graphics card issues: The game seems to not be compatible with certain gfx cards. My basic Intel chip didn't want to play it, while my nVidia card had no problems at all.

VDZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

While I liked the idea, the execution just doesn't seem to work out.

You're supposed to be making strategic choices at the right times to get your people to prosper, but with the simplistic cards (never any reason not to play a card immediately), high degree of randomness (you keep drawing Sacrifices when you're at full mana and your people are prospering), very restrictive hand size combined with no card draws when at the limit (you can't discard cards to make place for more useful cards) and wonky game balance (the civilization grows too easily, then becomes entirely unmanageable as you don't get enough food/water cards to sustain them and have no reliable way of culling them), there isn't really anything to do except for play whatever cards you draw. Again, you don't even get the option to keep them - you need to keep playing cards to get new ones. The game gives you no chance to make strategic decisions, which means you're pretty much left watching a civilization build up and destroy itself.

The UI could also use some serious work; elements moving on mouse-over is very annoying when you're trying to click something, the text rewriting itself as it zooms in makes it hard to read until it's fully zoomed in, and as it's impossible to see the effect of area effect cards you can't be sure what area you're affecting.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Thank you all for the feedback. These are issues that we are aware of. More features and cards were planned. UI behavior and performance are not exactly where we want it to be.

Sadly because of the complexity of the project and limited time we had to cut corners to make it this playable until the deadline. Think of it as a tech demo :)

I am planning to address these issues. That is if we continue development of it in the future.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Very ambitious for a 48h compo. The game have great gfx and background music. The problem is the gameplay need more tweaking. I played every card I have because I have no reason to wait to play them + the fact that you have no opponent/monsters/anything attacking you make the game a bit repetitive.
This is still a huge ammount of work ! congrats !

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice graphics, music and gameplay. I could almost pay for this game :)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:42pm

The game is amazing, and has inspired me to make a game like that myself. The texture and seeing the town grow little by little is beautiful. I was a bit confused with the cards, and playing them made the game lag, but I was just happy to see my town grow.

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Very intriguing game. The music and graphic sets a great mood!

adamwoolridge says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:09am

Really cool concept. Bugs such as transparent cards being unreadable and not able to easily select cards prevented me from really enjoying/playing the game though. Would love to see it finished!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]