Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Give up Hope

by Red_Fan games - Compo Entry

Controls on start screen of the game.
ATTENTION LINUX USERS: You will need love2d 0.9.0 or higher to run this game!

ATTENTION WINDOWS USERS: Run Game.exe included in the zip file.

Thanks and have fun! :)

By giving hope to either side of the screen you change the people on that sides' speed. Use This to press a button to get to the next level. There are five levels in total.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#61Innovation3.97
#309Humor2.75
#355Theme3.88
#359Audio2.90
#426Mood3.04
#456Overall3.26
#617Fun2.97
#758Graphics2.55

Comments

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Nice twist on a puzzle platformer there, cool background music. The game seemed to get stuck on level 4 for me even when both sides touched the buttons (pretty close to) simultaneously, one of the more Innovative games I've played so far.

BTW, I used GBDK to create my Gameboy game, some quick googling should get you started if you're interested :)

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Really great concept and great puzzles. Really clever use of the theme.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Clever concept, but could have been executed better. As it is, you just kind of stop with one guy on a button, and don't have to really play with the speed.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Really short, but fun and creative. Would love to see more.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

smart ! I liked this game. thanks

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

Windows claims to detect a virus in this for me and automatically deletes the zip file :(

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

Neat puzzle-like game. The use of colors didn't fair well with my eyes :(

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55am

Remember my old Atari, 5 stars!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Unique idea, giving hope to these downtrodden rectangles. I really like that rgb pixel effect too, even if they were a bit too strong for my eyes.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07am

Great mechanic, I love it! But the graphic is too poor, making me trouble understanding that the white boxes are actually buttons, haha.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

A nice and quick little puzzler. I enjoyed it and kinda wish there was more. Wish there was a pause between levels though.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21am

I gave up hope that game will be running for me. Maybe I will try later :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Great job. Interesting concept, just wish it had been a bit trickier :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44am

I can't get the executable since Microsoft thinks there's a Trojan associated with the download. =/

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nice music and concept, the art style was interesting but the colour separation made the text painful to read. Good though, neat little puzzles and it was very intuitive.

acotis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Huh, really cool concept. I had a hard time understanding what to do, though. What makes a level restart? Pressing buttons out of order?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]