Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dandelion

by ciaodavinci - Jam Entry

You are Dande, lion of space and time. Spring forth into the void to collect pieces of sparkle and relume the dead planets.

Controls:
[left] [right] ---------- steer
[space] --------------- swim
[esc] ------------------ quit
[~] --------------------- secret editor mode


A game by:
Henk Boom @henkboom
Paloma Dawkins @palomadawkins
Nicolás Muñoz @ni_mu_no
Peter Rockwell @prockwell
Cody Walker @bhane

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics(Jam)4.77
#10Mood(Jam)4.45
#45Audio(Jam)4.10
#46Overall(Jam)4.04
#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#97Innovation(Jam)3.82
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Very beautiful game! I would say something else, but I just really think it was enjoyable. Props to you!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I can't seem to download this game, it keeps telling me the archive is damaged. Too bad, it looked very nice.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Hi Tselmek, what version did you download?

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I love the graphic <3

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Had the same problem as Tselmek. Tried Jam win64, win64, and win32, all three are reporting an empty archive on Windows 10.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:57am

That was absolutely beautiful, and with wonderful gameplay. I would call it satisfyingly difficult, and that is a compliment. Music, mood, colors, animation, all wonderful.

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:41am

Absolutely beautiful :D

Tortoise says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:43am

Very very pretty. Good job bringing visuals and audio together. :)

Paco says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:45am

Man I love the style, I love spaceships, I love pretty things, I just want more of this thing guys!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:03am

such a beautiful game! the art in the mood fits perfect together! only the controls could be a bit better

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:58am

ciaodavinci, I downloaded both the win32 and win64 versions but downloading the JAM:Windows version seemed to work.

Very soothing experience, it was really satisfying to try and work against the planet's gravity in order to collect the sparkles. The artstyle is fantastic and tha audio very fitting. Good work.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:25am

Very awesome ! I like your game !!!

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:00am

Love the graphics and audio!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]