Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beanstalk and the Jack

by Mr MadCat - Jam Entry

Description Update:
Try Pressing the right mouse button right after starting the actual game to spawn a leaf for Jack to bounce on.

To make it easier to understand, we recorded a video of a playthrough of our game:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68aRa5_BD9w
End Update.

A magical beanstalk grows to the skies and a young man climbs it to the top. That is a story we all know.
But what if that's not what really happened.

In this little game you play Beanstalk, the real hero of the story.
Help sleepy Jack to reach the top safely.

Warning: the game starts immedietly after you press the start button in the main menu. You will have to start spawning leaves right away in order to survive.

Controls:
Move mouse left or right to move Beanstalk left or right.
Left mouse button to grow a leaf on the left side, right button for the right side.
Jack can bounce on the leaves.
You only have limited Beanpower to create leaves. Help Jack collect beans to fill it up.

Collect golden eggs to get points, avoid the rotten brown eggs.
Birds are kind of weird, do whatever you like about them. Warning: on some machines they are not able to collide with the player for some reason we couldn't figure out yet.

Made in Unreal Engine 4.
3D-Models created in Blender.
Textures created in Krita.
Sound Effects taken from the UE4 Kite demo.
Egg collecting sound: BristolStories,"Ping,"Sound Effect.(freesound.org/people/BristolStories/sounds/51702/)© BY-NC 3.0,10/5/2015.
Music:
-Kevin MacLeod: Hall of the Mountain King, Dance of the Sugar Plum Faries
-Royaltyfreemusic.com: Morning Mood
-Linh & Maria: Game Over Music

Team:
Johannes: Programming, 3D Arts
Rebecca: Programming, 2D Arts
Julia: Programming, FXs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#333Humor(Jam)2.96
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#562Innovation(Jam)3.08
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#725Mood(Jam)2.96
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#931Overall(Jam)2.80

Comments

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:03am

Well, it's a nice idea, but it was very difficult for me to understand what I had to do... in the end, I could, but I find controls a bit difficult to use.

Keep the hard work! I think you might create something good if you just polish these things :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:59am

Damn the beginning is very fast! It took me quite some time to understand how I could not lose in less than 1 second. May be you should put Jack higher at the start so that the player has a little bit more time to figure out what happens! After a few times, I could make him bounce! Yay! Music and sounds are kinda cool and fits well the atmosphere. However the side view with the rotation leaves/bean is a bit misleading as sometimes you might think that Jack will bounce but that's not the case (due to bad depth estimation). This is a bit frustrating. Anyways, congrats on the overall idea (very original I think) and the nice atmosphere.

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27am

i liked the realisation, but controls.. well, that was not ultra easy to master

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Wow, those graphics are really good ^^ But the game is kinda hard ><

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Asked for Visual Studio 2015 installation. Couldn't play, didn't rate.

Pixel Pub says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:17pm

i have problems by contolling, but I like the idea, grafics and the music. Nice game.

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Can't understand a thing about the game, yeah, I read the description, but at the early game I just keep dying and I just can't know why! Nice graphics and art, really gets you in the mood, but such a terrible game design. - Jeremias

Wir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice Idea !
Thank you for commenting our game, we added explanations (hope they explain everything). We haven´t fixed the resolution problem yet but we will when we got time for it.

Maybe you could give our game another try? (We recommend playing small islands)

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Interesting idea but needs some tuning. You need to prevent jack from dieing instantly at start (maybe add the initial leaf, or add a pause). And Jack bounce too much horizontally.

Neil says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

As Oneiric Worlds mentioned, the beginning is a little fast. Either put Jack higher or pause the game at the start until the player clicks or something. Nice graphics and mood. I wasn't very good at the game though XD.

Raius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Really cool game! Some kind of explanation of how to play in the actual game itself would be handy but I like the idea and with some polish it could be awesome.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

I liked the idea but I'll be honest I struggled when it came to actually playing the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]