Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eatvolution

by raatmarien - Compo Entry

This game is based on the growth and the two button controls themes.

You are a small, but determined amoeba, who wants to grow. Eat smaller organisms to grow, but watch out for bigger organisms, since they won't hesitate to eat you too! Use 'a' or the left arrow key to turn left and 'd' or the right arrow key to turn right.

Installation:
- Linux:
Install the sfml library using your package manager or from this site: http://www.sfml-dev.org/download/sfml/2.3.2/
Download the linux binaries, unpack the tar.gz and run the eatvolution binary.

- Windows
Download the binaries, unpack the zip file and double click on Eatvolution.exe

- Building from source:
Download the source and follow the instructions in the README

If you have any problems installing or running, please let me know.

Tools:
The game was made using SFML and C++. I made all the assets in Gimp.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#424Fun3.23
#461Theme3.76
#489Humor2.35
#544Mood2.88
#624Graphics2.85
#653Overall3.04
#886Innovation2.27

Comments

CottonKitty says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Very nice pacmanlike game. If it was on steam i would buy it. I think you should add predators.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

Cute! Some music would have helped, but the lack of music made it somewhat zen-like.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:37pm

It would've helped if your amoeba was less stretched like all the other cells to better judge/compare size. Or maybe having a faint circle glow around/below every object indicating the exact size.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:40pm

The amoeba moved too fast early on, so control was difficult. Other than that good game!

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I win! I am the ecosystem!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Very nice

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Following on what @YinYin said. maybe tint colors would work. red if its bigger, green if its smaller.

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:04pm

i had to skip this for now as the game runs too fast for me.. i have pretty good reflexes but this seemed to run crazy fast in linux :(

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I ate the whole ecosystem buahahaa.
Looks like the eat others to grow is well used game category this LD. Not complaining, I like the simple game mechanics involved in them :)

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice game, classic concept made clean, smooth. I like it.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:13am

Simple concept but smoothly executed and fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]