Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MANE

by Enchae - Jam Entry

______________________________________________________________________________

You fly a beard through the sky... And there's a neat little backstory. I have brilliant ideas.

______________________________________________________________________________

GAMEPLAY STUFF:

Arrow keys to move.

Avoid hitting things. "THE BEARD MUST NOT BE SOILED!"

_______________________________________________________________________________

I apologize for it being very short. I wanted to do so much more, but the music is banging! I promise that much.

If you don't want to download the game to play it...
at least give the music a listen on SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/nchae/the-beardest

_______________________________________________________________________________

[Small update] I lowered the volume of the music and fixed a typo.
Sorry about that...
_______________________________________________________________________________

Much <3 @EnchaeC
_______________________________________________________________________________

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#14Humor(Jam)4.28
#119Audio(Jam)3.81
#205Graphics(Jam)4.03
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#443Mood(Jam)3.30

Comments

Enchae says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Man, that was harsh. But better something than nothing!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very fun, nice premise. However I did have to turn the music down to keep my ears alive.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Hahaha this game is funny, 5 stars for humor! 5 stars for graphics and audio as well, both are very well done.

herniewise says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36am

I always wanted a real beard. Nice job. <3

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03am

Finally beat it. Most LD entries I skip all the text, but this one I read because it was very silly, nice job with that. However, I really hate the fact that the text MOVES as it's being "typed" onto the screen. It like hurts my eyes or something man.. Also, not sure if re-looping the music each time you die was a good idea. I hated listening to the first 5 seconds of it over and over again.... But I enjoyed the game so whatever!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11am

Gotta love that woman with a flowing beard in the intro! The choice of following the style of Shovel Knight wasn't a bad one, either.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47am

After seeing the graphics and reading THE BEARD MUST NOT BE SOILED I was going to hammer the walls with my fists and bellow curses that this is only available for Windows users, but the soundcloud link calmed the rage.

I would totally give 5 stars for audio if I could play the game.

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:07am

This is genuinelly brilliant!

It did take a bit for me though to understand that purple = good;

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

Great graphics, music, humor, and game overall! Loved it!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Very fun game, thought the story concept was hilarious. Took me a couple times to figure out the birds were what was causing my doom, thought it to be a bug at first. My only suggestion would be to add some sort of score counter.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very cool!

Enchae says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25am

I fixed the music... sorry about that.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36am

The music was really loud but the game was fun!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45am

It's a good book

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:10am

This game is nostalgic as hell. From the absurd concept to the brutal difficulty, this game screams NES. The music is great, the graphics are great (side note: what's with classic style games and making me hate ducks).

Overall this game is awesome. It's a tad TOO hard in my opinion, but everything else makes up for it. The controls are tight, the graphics are awesome, it's definitely one of the funnier games I've played in all of the jams.

Great work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Awesome entry, as two of our team are sporting very large beards we are impressed at the acuracy of beard ownership. In all seriousness it was a great game well executed, I didn't quite get what I had to avoid at first but very soon I was having a blast.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Old-school aesthetic is cool but the text sound is a bit obnoxious. Pretty funny premise, great graphics and music. Horribly frustrating but I feel that's the point. xD

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Loved it, but still, games with these funny stories should have a "skip" button, I couldn't pass the second mass of birds. Really cool in every way! Keep up the awesome work!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Funny stuff! Though the long respawn time combined with the irritating BEARD START text got on my nerves. But then I became king. Or something.

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:10pm

damn...no OSX/web build... :| can't play it

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:15pm

That was the most beautiful intro I have ever done seen in a Ludum Dare entry! Nice job! The gameplay felt tight, although the ducks were a bit brutal.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:17pm

That was really fun ! Even if it's hard at first, it became easy and it quickly become feasible. So, that's short but fun, so that's a good game, thanks ^^

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Great introduction to story, poor Mane... Pixel art quality is very good. Gameplay is challenging, and you will die a lot. My only complaint is long time it takes to try again after death, it really breaks the flow.

Ghen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

oooo, i dig the visual, the color pallete remind me of old commodore and NES year, lot of funny lines, and i love funny lines :D
one of the best game i played so far :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Great art and music, and a fun runner. I'd recommend having the music not restart every time you die -- it makes it much more frustrating to lose and people don't get to hear the awesome music! Also the hitbox definitely seemed to behave oddly at times. I'd love to see this extended with procedural generation. Nice work!!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

10/10 for intro sequence! Might seem a little silly but it added a bit to the game play itself in terms of "mood". Music/sound effects were top notch. I preferred the music stop and restart on player death to avoid the infernal never ending loop lol. Intial I didn't know why I was dieing but after a bit I realized it was due to the birds.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Best intro.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]